Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

United States History

Provides major resources and methods for research in U.S. history. Some of the key resources discussed in this guide are America: History and Life, Making of America, and Early American Imprints (Evans).

Clements Library

The Clements Library houses one of the nation's great collections for the study of the history of the Americas, beginning in the 15th century to the early 20th century, including European discovery, exploration, and colonization of America.

To contact Clements Library and request reference assistance, email them at clements.library@umich.edu

Some recent exhibits of Clements materials include:

Native American History at the Clements Library

San Francisco Earthquake and Fire of April, 1906

Reframing the Color Line: Race and the Visual Culture of the Atlantic World

Women's Education Evolves, 1790-1890: Selected Primary Sources from the William L. Clements Library

Dangerous Ideas: Controversial Works from the William L. Clements Library

The Old Girl Network: Charity Cookbooks and the Empowerment of Women

Bentley Historical Library

The Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive at Clements Library

The Clements Library on the Ann Arbor campus is home to the Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive, a rich resource for studying the history of food and drink in America. The collection includes many cookery books, from as early as the 16th century. It also has much food-related ephemera: menus, promotional and souvenir cookbooks, and advertising material.

The holdings of the Clements Library, including the Longone Culinary Archive, can be searched through Mirlyn.

Subject Guides:

For more information, contact the collection's curator, JJ Jacobson, at nonesuch@umich.edu

Maps, Data, and Government Documents at UM

The Labadie Collection in UM's Special Collections

The Labadie Collection of radical history in the United States documents social protest movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.  The collection is housed in Special Collections on the 7th Floor of Hatcher Graduate Library.