Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

United States History

Provides major resources and methods for research in U.S. history. Some of the key resources discussed in this guide are America: History and Life, Making of America, and Early American Imprints (Evans).

Where to find full-text historical periodicals online:

Full-text newspaper collections

Streaming Video (including historical news coverage)

American History in Video: Upon completion, American History in Video will contain over 5700 documentary films and newsreels (over 2000 hours) of significant events in U.S. history, in streaming video. Each film includes a transcript. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared. Videos can be downloaded to an Apple OS or Android phone, good for 48 hours.

C-Span Video Library: Provides online access to all C-SPAN programming since 1987.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968-present): The collection includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN since 1995. Searchable abstracts; some streaming video, and tape loans on request (for a fee).NBC News Archive.

NBC News Archive: An catalog is available for searching all NBC news archives. Full transcripts are available.

For transcripts of news programs:

  • LexisNexis Academic  
       
    For transcripts of major news shows, select "News/TV and Radio Transcripts" from the left-side drop-down menu.

The Paley iCollection is an online archive of thousands of television programs of all types; news programs; sports events; commercials; and other programs dating from the early years of television to the present day. (Note: You will be asked to create an individual account using your UM uniqname.)

Ethnographic Video Online: primarily ethnographic documentaries and interviews of anthropologists. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including previously unreleased raw footage, field notes and study guides. Clips and playlists can be created, saved and shared.