Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Health Sciences Mobile Devices Resources

Resources for mobile devices in health sciences.

Skill Building

3M Littmann Soundbuilder: Helps improve the auscultation skills of students & practicing clinicians, with 14 unique lessons based upon key heart sounds that combine text, 3D cardiac animation, & dynamic waveforms.

iOS

ABG Ninja:  Quizzes on topics such as Arterial Blood Gas, Glasgow Coma Scale & cranial nerves.

Mobile-friendly web site

CellAtlas: App & mobile-friendly website provides a guide to blood cell morphology, with mini lectures by experts & an extensive cell image database. Also includes a game, CellQuiz. From CellaVision.

iOS l Android

Heart Sound Challenge: Designed to develop the confidence of students or health care professionals in their ability to use the stethoscope to examine patients' hearts, using an engaging, game-like environment.

iOS

Histology: A study aid that provides a series of histology slides for users to self-test their level of knowledge & ability to recognize histological structures. 

iOS

Nerve Whiz: Learn the complex anatomy of nerve roots, plexuses, & peripheral nerves. 

iOS

Prognosis: Your Diagnosis: Get the gist of a clinical case study in 2-3 minutes. Investigate & diagnose complex clinical cases within minutes in a fun, interactive cartoon-style narrative. 

iOS l Android

Radiology 2.0: A series of cases that allow the user to simulate reading CT scans at a PACS workstation. 

iOS

Second Look:  A series of histology apps that lets users test their self-knowledge in up to 7 areas.  Connective Tissue is free; other parts of the series must be purchased.

iOS l Android

Anatomy

BioDigital Human Platform: Simplifies the understanding of health topics by visualizing anatomy, conditions and treatments, providing new ways to augment healthcare applications.

iOS l Android 

CellAtlas: App & mobile-friendly website provides a guide to blood cell morphology, with mini lectures by experts & an extensive cell image database. Also includes a game, CellQuiz. From CellaVision.

iOS l Android

Embryo App: The Virtual Human Embryo (NLM) databse provides digital serial sections of human embryos. Mobile telecommunication and multimedia technologies add interactive capabilities, enhancing an understanding of embryo development. 

iOS