Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Health Sciences Mobile Devices Resources

Resources for mobile devices in health sciences.

Clinical Calculators

ABG Calculator: ABG is a multipurpose medical calculator that analyzes arterial blood gasses and provides a recommended FIO2 given a determined pO2, FIO2 and a desired pO2.

iOS l Android

Archimedes Medical Calculator: From Skyscape, this calculator provides more than 130 preprogrammed formulas that include specialties such as Cardiology, Pharmacology, Hematology, FEN, Pediatrics, Pulmonary and Renal. Registration required.

iOS l Android

MD ezLabs: Provides lab values in a quick, easy-to-understand format & differential diagnosis for abnormal lab values.

iOS

Calculate: Replaces Cardio Calc, GI Calc, NephCalc, and Heme Calc. It supports clinical decisions that impact diagnosis, treatment, or determining prognosis; from QxMD.

iOS l Android l Windows Mobile

ASCVD Risk Estimator: Contains a risk calculator & information on statin intensities, groups who would benefit from statin therapy, & information for providers & patients. From the American College of Cardiology (ACC).

iOS l Android

BMI Calculator: From the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute.

iOS l Android

Breast Cancer Risk Assessment Tool: An interactive tool from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the National Surgical Adjuvant Breast and Bowel Project (NSABP) to estimate a woman's risk of developing invasive breast cancer.

iOS

CliniCal, by UBM Medica: A medical calculator app with 132 easy to use formulas and scoring tools for GPs and healthcare professionals. Incorporating fast data input and instantaneous clear clinical recommendations, CliniCal can help with those daily patient questions and tricky diagnoses. 

iOS

Manage CVD Risk in Reduced GFR: Helps reduce risk associated with major traditional & non-traditional risk factors for cardiovascular disease (CVD). Includes an interactive algorithm to quickly identify high-risk patients & apply evidence-based strategies to assess & treat. Content adapted from KDOQI evidence-based clinical practice guidelines & recommendations from the National Kidney Foundation.

iOS l Android

WUSM OB Calc: Provides clinical support for 5 common areas, including determining a patient's success rate for VBAC & determining risk for Down syndrome based on the presence of ultrasound markers. From the Washington University School of Medicine. See also WUSM OB Insulin.

iOS

Clinical Trials

Clinical Trials Mobile: Search the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of available clinical trials worldwide.

iOS

Cancer Trials: App allows searching for cancer trials for 12 common cancers in MedTrust Online's oncology databases. Developed with GlaxoSmithKline. 

iOS l Android

Guidelines

National Guideline Clearinghouse: NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC Guideline Summaries are available in HTML format downloadable to hand-held devices. Includes guidelines from ACP, AHA, CDC, and many more.

Mobile-friendly Website

NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology: The standard for clinical policy in oncology. Free registration is required.

iOS l Android

Clinical Guidelines from ACP: Instructions for use and downloading free eReader.

iOS l Android

Screening/Prevention

AHRQ ePSS: Search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations. 

iOS l Android l Blackberry l Windows Mobile

CDC Vaccine Schedule: Quick access from CDC to ACIP-recommended immunization schedules, complete with footnotes.

iOS l Android

Pocket Guide to Selected Preventive Services for Adults: From the Council for Young Physicians, 8th ed.

Mobile-friendly Website

Screening for Albuminuria: A quick, point-of-care pocket tool to help medical professionals assess and treat albuminuria in people with diabetes and other high risk patients. Content adapted from KDOQI ebp guidelines & recommendations from the National Kidney Foundation.

iOS

Shots: Includes the complete set of CDC vaccine schedules, with up-to-date information for each vaccine, including high risk indications, adverse reactions, contraindications, catch-up, administration, epidemiology, brand names, & additives.

iOS l Android