Skip to Main Content
Library Research Guides

THL Citation Management

Tutorials provided by the Taubman Health Sciences Library on citation management programs.

Contact Information

Profile Photo
Taubman Health Sciences Library
Contact:
1135 E. Catherine, 5726
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2038
734.764.1210
Website

EndNote Resources

Tutorials from EndNote:  videos

Tutorials from Yale's Cushing/Whitney Medical Library.   Videos use different versions of EndNote (primarily X7 & X8) but the steps will be the same. *Videos from Yale show EndNote on both Windows and Mac. EndNote videos

Configuring & Using EndNote's Find Full Text Feature

There are 2 ways to find full-text articles using EndNote: 1) Find Full Text locates & downloads electronic copies of articles or URLs that are freely available directly to references in your library; 2) the OpenURL allows you to search for electronic versions of articles from the Library’s databases using M GetIt that you can then download.

Find Full Text:  From the Edit dropdown menu, select Preferences, then Find Full Text.

At OpenURL Path, enter this text:  http://mgetit.lib.umich.edu/? 

At URL (under Authenticate), enter this text:  http://proxy.lib.umich.edu/login?url

EndNote's Preferences window, with areas to enter information circled.

 

OpenURL:  In the Preferences window, select URLs & Links from the menu on the left.

  • At ISI Base URL, enter this text:  http://mgetit.lib.umich.edu/?
  • At OpenURL Arguments, edit the phrase by replacing ?sid=ISI:WOS with ?sid=ISI:endnote
  • Click OK.

OpenURL window, with boxes to enter infomation in circled.

Find Full Text:  Select the references that you wish to search for (from 1 to 1,000 references)

From the References dropdown menu, select Find Full Text.  You can also right-click the selected references & select Find Full Text from the popup menu.

If a PDF &/or URL is available, it will be downloaded & placed in the File Attachment or URL field of the appropriate reference(s).

How to use Find Full Text feature.

 

Open URL:  Select a reference by right-clicking on a reference in the library window or use the References dropdown menu

Select URL, then OpenURL Link. 

If electronic access is available, you will be taken directly to the publisher’s website or the MGet It window will open, so that you can download the article & attach it to the appropriate reference.

How to use OpenURL.

EndNote Online (EndNote Web, Basic)

See the EndNote Basic page in this guide.