Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Video Game Development

Selected resources designed to assist those who are interested in computer and video game design, development, and programming.

Game Design and Development Journals

These are just a few of the academic journals out there publishing articles in the field of computer and video game design and development. Articles may also appear in general databases, such as IEEE Xplore, ISI Web of Knowledge, and Scopus. A list of useful search terms for these databases and the Mirlyn catalog can be found here.

General Databases for Video Game Design Articles

These databases contain, among other things, links to several full text articles and journals pertaining to computer and video game design and development, including programming, graphics, sound, and other aspects in the field.

Recommended Search Terms for Databases

General

Video games

Videogames (one word)

Electronic games

Computer games

Gaming

Internet games

Online games


Game Design/Programming

Computer games AND design

Video games AND design

Computer games AND programming

Computer games AND development

Video games AND development

Computer games AND graphics

Video games AND graphics

Searching in Databases

For more information on how best to search through the databases where computer and video game design and development articles are located, please see the "Finding Articles" sections of the Computer Science and Engineering and Electrical Engineering Libguides.