A German-English/English-German dictionary with comprehensive coverage of the general vocabulary of contemporary German and English (both British and American English, and the German of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland).
Combined access to 18 concise and pocket sized bilingual dictionaries. Provides translations between English and seven other languages: French, German, Irish (Gaelic), Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Modern Welsh. Includes specialized dictionaries for business related terms in French and Spanish.
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints,
A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.
Africa-Wide is a combination of two well-known databases, South African Studies and African Studies, published by NISC. It consists of more than 30 different database files from Africa, Europe and the U.S. indexing nearly two million records.
Access limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
Records indexed include: articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, maps, theses, and music recordings.
Topics covered include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more.
Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
Accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. UM users only
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Provides world-wide job openings, internship listings, industry profiles and country-specific career information designed to help citizens of one country find employment in another country (including the U.S.).