Skip to main content
Library Research Guides


This is a guide to finding Library materials and getting started with research in the area of dance.

Search Tools

Need to find more databases? Search Tools is a portal to databases, e-journals, and other electronic resources. The "Databases" tool allows you search or browse for databases.

Off-Campus Access

You can access nearly all the databases to which the Library subscribes when you're off-campus. The only difference you'll notice is that you will be asked to login when you enter the database.

Why Use a Database?

While Mirlyn can tell you whether the Library has a particular journal, it cannot tell you what articles are in a journal. An article index or database allows you to search thousands of issues of different periodicals to find matches for your search terms.

Databases vary as to what types of materials they include. A database can index scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, books, dissertations, and other types of materials.

Articles & Dissertations

Use the following databases to find articles, dissertations, and other resources related to dance:

Navigating Database Records

Below is a sample record for a journal article from the database International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance. The heading ("Against Expectations...") is the title of the article, while the "Source" field gives the journal title, volume, issue, and pagination. The "Subject Terms" are much like the Library of Congress subject headings found in a library catalog. It can be helpful to look at these, as they may give you ideas of other terms to use in your search. This database also provides abstracts for the articles so you can get an idea of what the article discusses.

IBTD example

Getting the Article

To access an article, look for a PDF icon or MGet It button in the record; the location of the icon varies from one database to the next. Below is an example from the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, where the icon appears on the left of the record. If there is electronic access to an article, you will be taken directly to it by clicking on the MGet It button. This will also tell you if there is no online access to an item -- in that case you should do a title search in Mirlyn on the "source" title to see if the journal is held in print.

IBTD example