Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Finding Species Information

A guide for finding factual information about particular plant and animal species.

Find Databases

Selected Library Databases

Agricola
The AGRICultural ONLine Access database covers citations on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal diversity and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, aquaculture, fisheries, farming and farming systems, among others. It is part of Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Coverage begins 1970.

Biosis Previews
An index to serial publications and books in all areas of biology. Coverage begins with 1955. A print version covering back to vol. 1, 1926 is available in the Indexes/Abstracts section of the Reference collection under call number QH 301 .B58.

Birds of North America
The definitive resource for the breeding birds of North America, covering over 700 species and featuring multimedia content (maps, photos, RealAudio and video).

Grzimek's Animal Life
The online version of Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia contains information on over 4000 animal species.

ISI Web of Knowledge
Formerly known as the Web of Science, this database has expanded to where WOS is one of several "products". WOS is a collection of 3 databases: Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

Zoological Record
In both print and electronic formats. Covers zoological literature worldwide, especially systematics and taxonony. Various animal groups including protozoa, nematodes, reptiles, birds and mammals. Print version is available at the Museums Library