Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive makes available over 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides.

Visitors

Location and hours

Ann Arbor:

We recommend the Askwith Media Library, located on the 2nd floor of the Shapiro Undergraduate Library as the best location to view Visual History Archive testimonies. Access to the archive is also available to visitors at any UM Library. Hours at each library may vary. Please check the hours of the library you intend to visit here

Dearborn:

Visitor access to the archive is availabe at the Mardigian Library. Please check library hours and directions before visiting. 

Flint: 

Visitor access to the archive is available at the Thompson Library. Please check library hours and campus map before visiting.

Requesting Testimonies

Visual History Archive testimonies usually take less than an hour to transfer from the server at the USC Shoah Foundation, though on occassion they do take longer. If you are requesting multiple testimonies, these will transfer in the order requested. If you have limited time for your viewing or have several known testimonies to view, please contact  svha.help@umich.edu for help with requesting testimonies in advance of your visit.

Viewing Testimonies

Plan ample time for viewing testimonies. Testimonies range in length from 2-4 hours on average, though you can move to individual sections within the testimonies as needed. 

Getting Started 

See the Getting Started tab in this guide for detailed instructions on searching and viewing testimonies.

Copies of testimonies

The archive does not allow for copying snippets or downloading complete testimonies. If you need a copy of a specific testimony, contact the USC Shoah Foundation at sfiaccess@usc.edu.  For additional contact information, go here.

Contact Info

For further information about or help with using the Shoah Visual History Archive at the University of Michigan, please email svha.help@umich.edu.

For further information about the archive and the testimonies, including how to obtain a copy of the testimony of a family member, please contact the USC Shoah Foundation Institute directly at sfiaccess@usc.edu.