Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Japanese Studies

Selected information resources on Japanese Studies at University of Michigan

鎌田図書館蔵書 Kamada Library Collection

現在ミシガン大学アジア図書館に所蔵されている鎌田コレクションは、香川県坂出市の鎌田共済会図書館から岡山県に設立されたミシガン大学岡山ステーションで研究活動をしていた日本研究者によって購入された書籍です。1950年7月29日付けのステーション・ディレクターであるロバート・ワード教授からアン・アーバーの日本研究所の所長であるロバート・ホール教授宛の書簡から購入の経緯が窺われます。大凡19,400冊の書籍が5万5千冊ほどの鎌田図書館蔵書から選ばれ購入されました。選書された図書の内訳は地理学・伝記・文学・歴史・哲学・法学と幅広く、1,218冊の和古書も含まれていました。鎌田図書館から購入された図書がそれまでに収集された蔵書に加わり、1951年にはアジア図書館の前身である極東図書館の蔵書数は6万冊の規模になっています。鎌田コレクションは現在ではアジア図書館の蔵書としてカタログされ、その多くはBuhr Shelving Facilityに収められています。

The collection was originally owned by Kamada Kyosaikai Toshokan in Sakaide, Kagawa Prefecture. The Center for Japanese Studies faculty members, who were at the Okayama Field Station for their field research, purchased a part of the collection, which amounted to about 19,400 volumes out of over 55,000 volumes of their original collection. A letter dated July 29, 1950, from Professor Robert Ward, Director of the Station, to Professor Robert Hall, Director of the Center for Japanese Studies, describes the course of purchasing. The selected books covered a wide range of subject matter: geography, biography, literature, history, philosophy, law, politics and religion, and included 1,218 volumes of pre-Meiji publications (watojibon--books with traditional East Asian stitch binding). They were added to the Far Eastern Library (the predecessor of the Asia Library) and the library holdings counted more than 60,000 in 1951. The Kamada collection is now fully integrated into the Asia Library collection, and many of them are shelved in the Buhr Shelving Facility. (#This page was created by Mari Suzuki, who is responsilble for the contents.)

  これは鎌田図書館からの本? Is this book from Kamada Library?

圓機詩學活法全書 (Enki shigaku kappo zensho; PL 1519 .W25 1656)

鎌田図書館から購入された図書には「財団法人鎌田共済会図書館蔵書之印」と蔵書印が押されています。figure 1の拡大図では更に2つの印が見られます(一つ目は「長」に囲い、二つ目は「Kamada 11-9-1950」)。一つ目の印は調査されていませんが、二つ目はミシガン大学図書館の所蔵を示すための、日本研究所スタッフによる購入の日付と思われます。四つ目の印 (figure 2)は鎌田図書館による登録印で、大正一一年七月一日登録第一五三四号と示されています。この日付は鎌田図書館がその年の九月に正式に開館する二ヶ月前のものです。

Books from the Kamada Library have the original ownership seal stamped in them. The stamp reads 財団法人鎌田共済会図書館蔵書之印. In the example on the left (figure1), it also has two other stamps: 長 in a rectangle and "Kamada" with the date "11-9-50." We don't know the purpose of the first stamp. The date "11-9-50" is assumed to be the purchase date by the Center, indicating the book now belongs to the Japanese collection at the University of Michigan Library. The fourth stamp (figure2) shows another date, which reads 大正一一年七月一日登録第一五三四号. The date is two months before the Kamada library was officially opened to the public in September, 1922. The library staff registered the item as no.1534 in July of the same year.

figure1: figure2:

また、鎌田図書館のオリジナルの書誌ラベルからも、その本が鎌田図書館より購入されたことがわかります。すでに、ミシガン大学図書館のラベルでカバーされている図書もありますが、例えば、太平記大全のラベルには冊とも上部に 75 とあり、下部には 286 から 335 まで続き番号が振られています。上部の番号は図書分類と思われます。

Another indicator for books to be part of the Kamada collection is detected by their original call number labels, although some are covered by the University Library labels. For the example of Taiheiki taizen (太平記大全; PL 790 .T3 1659), the top number is 75 and it remains the same for all 50 volumes. The bottom number starts from 286 for an index and ends with 335 for vol. 49. The top number seems to indicate categories.

参考文献:鎌田勝太郎・鎌田共済会 Bibliography: Kamada Katsutaro, Kamada Kyosaikai

Title: 淡翁. Tanʾō.

Contributor: 島田恭平編輯

Published: 坂出町(香川県) : 鎌田共済会, 昭和17 [1942]

Description: 94 p., 8 leaves of plates : ill., ports. ; 24 cm.

Notes: 略年譜: p. 15-27 ; 和装.

Subjects: 鎌田勝太郎, 1868〜1942.

Call number: DS 885.5 .K15 S56

Annotation: It is published in honor of Mr. Kamada after his death. It contains his brief biography and messages of condolence from his acquaintances, including Konoe Fumimaro.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Title: 鎌田共濟會雜誌. Kamada Kyōsaikai zasshi.

Contributor: 中尾飛佐太編輯

Published: 坂出町(香川県) : 鎌田共濟會, 大正13 [1924] -

Description: v. : ill. ; 21-28 cm.

Notes:

Subjects: 鎌田共濟會.

Call number: AS 552 .K15

Annotation: The jounal published by the Society. It includes fiscal and activity reports by the internal divisions, essays, and commentaries on various topics of interests to the society and the community members.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Title: 坂出市史. Sakaide shishi.

Contributor: 市史編纂委員会編

Published: [香川県坂出市] : 坂出市役所, 昭和27 [1952]

Description: 16, 601 p., [33] p. of plates : ill., ports.; 22 cm.

Notes:

Subjects: Sakaide-shi (Japan) -- History.

Call number: DS 897 .S16 S2

参考文献:ミシガン大学日本研究所・アジア図書館 Center for Japanese Studies & Asia Library

Bentley Historical Library Finding aids:

Center for Japanese Studies (University of Michigan) records  1945-1997:

Center for Chinese Studies (University of Michigan) records 1958-1995: 

Library (University of Michigan) publications 1881-2002 1950-2001:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Title: The Development of Japanese studies at the University of Michigan, 1947-1966.

Contributor: Ward, Robert Edward

Published: Ann Arbor : Center for Japanese Studies, University of Michigan, 1966.

Description: 17, [9], 3, 16 p. ; 29 cm.

Notes: Includes publications of the Center for Japanese Studies 1947-1966.

Subjects: University of Michigan. Center for Japanese Studies; Japan -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- Michigan. 

Call number: DS 801 .W26

See below for PDF file.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Title: Japan in the world, the world in Japan: fifty years of Japanese Studies at Michigan.

Contributor: University of Michigan. Center for Japanese Studies

Published: Ann Arbor : Center for Japanese Studies, University of Michigan, c2001.

Description: xii, 247 p. ; 23 cm.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

Subjects: University of Michigan. Center for Japanese Studies -- History; Japan -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- United States. 

Call number: DS 834.95 .J3181 2001

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

Title: Survery of Japanese collections in the United States, 1979-1980.

Contributor: Fukuda, Naomi.

Published: Ann Arbor : Center for Japanese Studies, University of Michigan, 1980.

Description: x, 180 p. : 1 fold. map ; 23 cm.

Series : Michigan papers in Japanese studies. no. 4

Notes: Includes bibliographical references.

Subjects: Japan -- Library resources -- United States. 

Call number: Z 688 .J27 F94

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Title: 外国人による日本地域研究の軌跡. Gaikokujin ni yoru Nihon chiiki kenkyū no kiseki.

Contributor: 石田寬編

Published: 東京 : 古今書院, 昭和 60 [1985]

Description: xxiii, 483 p., [2] p. of plates : ill. ; 22 cm.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Subjects: Japan -- Study and teaching -- History; Japan -- Bibliography. 

Call number: DS 834.95 .G27

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Title: 書物の日米関係 : リテラシー史に向けて. Shomotsu no Nichi-Bei kankei : riterashī-shi ni mukete.

Contributor: 和田敦彦著

Published: 東京 : 新曜社, 2007.

Description: 406 p. : ill. ; 21 cm.

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Subjects: Japanese imprints -- United States -- History; Libraries -- United States -- Special collections -- History. 

Call number: Z 688 .J29 W33