Skip to main content
University of Michigan Library
Search this Guide
Selected information resources on Japanese Studies at University of Michigan
Articles & E-journals
Online Open Access Resouces
Digital Humanities Starter Kit
Introduction to Kamada Collection
Bibliography of selected subjects
Japanese langauge newspaper online
Asahi shinbun Digital full texts subscribed (UM only)
Digtal newspaper of Asahi daily newspaper.
Asahi shinbun KIKUZO Visual II (UM only)
(1879 - present), including AERA, Shukan Asahi, Chiebukuro (dictionary), and Jinbutsu (who's who), Historical photos.
Mainichi shinbun MAISAKU (UM only)
(1872 - present), including Public opinion surveys, Shukan Ekonomisuto (1989 - present), and the Mainichi english edition.
NIKKEI TELECON 21 (UM only)
(1876 - present), including major and local newspapers, Nikkei magazines, statistics, some TV news scripts and more. (Only at Ann Arbor campus)
Niikei Telecom Contents list
Inside 日経テレコム Under ヘルプ choose マニュアル、and chosse 「記事」コンテンツ詳細 List of the information of the newspapers, journals, and other resources included in Nikkei Telecome 21
Yomiuri shinbun YOMIDASU Rekishikan (UM only)
(1874 - present), including Who's who and English edition, the Daily Yomiuri.
Newspaper Clippings database (Open access) 新聞記事文庫
Kobe University Library - archival digital resources.
English langauge newspapers online (some UM limited)
The Asahi shinbun - Asia & Japan Watch - daily news
Chinese and Korean language version available.
Asahi shinbun digital (UM only)
English and Chinese available. Change language setting inside the Asahi digital interface
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
"The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence"
Japan Chronicle Weekly Online (1902-1940) UM only
English "newspaper of record for Japan's engagement with modernity and its emergence, through war, political and social upheaval and seismic social change in East Asia, onto the world stage in the first half of the 20th century".
Japan Times - daily edition
Japan Times archives 03/22 1897 - December 31st of the previous calendar year (UM only)
Including The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times.
Japan Times 12/30/1991 - 3/16/2000 (UM only)
Japan Times 01/01/1998 - present (UM only)
Mainichi - daily version
Mainichi Daily news 06/01/2008 - (UM only)
in Maisaku database
Nikkei Weekly 01/01/1991 - 09/30/2013 (UM only)
Nikkei Asia Review - daily news (UM only)
Daily Yomiuri 10/01/2004 - 03/31/2006 (UM only)
Japan News by the Yomiuri shinbun - daily news
Japan news by the Yomiuri shinbun in YOMIDASU database 1989 - (UM only)
Newspaper search dabatase
Meiji shinbun zasshi bunko 明治新聞雑誌文庫
Search the collection (citation database) of The University of Tokyo collection. To use the original, visit 近代日本法制史料センター http://www.meiji.j.u-tokyo.ac.jp/index.html
Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The Japanese Diaspora Initiative (JDI) at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives Stanford University.
Hokubei Jijiji (North American Times) and Hokubei Hochi (North American Post)
The Nikkei Newspapers Digital Archive (NNDA) by the Hokubei Hochi (North American Post) Foundation and the University of Washington Libraries.
Overseas Japanese-language Newspapers Description
International Research Center for Japanese Studies
Who's Who, dictionaries, and other digital information
Encyclopedia of Japan
English encyclopedia provided through Japan Knowledge
Consists of: Jinbutsu bunken jōhō who for ca. 320,000 individuals; Jinbutsu refarensu jiten for 148,844 Japanese and 104,677 non-Japanese;
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more...