SciFinder is a discovery tool provided by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) for chemical structure & reaction and forward cited-reference searches. Searches are performed across select Chemical Abstracts databases and Medline, which covers many disciplines such as biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. (Coverage Details)
Current UM faculty, students, and staff may access the databases through the SciFinder web version.
ChemZent features the entire collection of Chemisches Zentralblatt, the oldest compendium of chemistry abstracts, dating from 1830 to 1969. It is now searchable in English through SciFinder. If you see an icon for ChemZent as shown in the figure below with an entry, it is from the ChemZent collection and click on the icon will take you to the original German PDF version of the document. It also pinpoints the location of the abstract within the PDF. You can print and export both the original German and English translated abstracts.
Java-based structure editor
If you experienced difficulties with the Java-based structure editor, please read below.
SciFinder now also provides a non-java structure editor. You may select your prefered editor on the interface easily.
CAS provided a solution to Java 7 Update 51 problems.
If you have the latest version of Java, you may try to open the Java Control Panel then click on the Security tab to click the Edit Site list. And add https://scifinder.cas.org to the list.
If nothing above works, you can download the Structure Editor from SciFinder on this page as an alternative.
Please contact me if you have additional questions.
Access to SciFinder Web Version
New to SciFinder web version?
Please click here to create your individual user name and password, then log onto the web version of SciFinder here. If you are off campus or using a wireless connection, please make sure you use this link to log onto the database instead of using the link shown on your confirmation page.
Already created your user name and password?
Log onto the web version of SciFinder here.
Need a quick check? You may access limited features of SciFinder using your smartphone. See here for details. You may login with your SciFinder account. There is no IP address restriction and your access through smartphone does not occupy our concurrent seats.
Note: Access through iPad will be directed to the web version of SciFinder (i.e. there will be IP address restriction and seats limit for iPad. )
Now, we are able to provide occasional walk-in access to SciFinder to general public under the following conditions:
1. It's for non-commercial use.
2. The access is via a public computer at MLibrary.
If you are interested in walk-in access, please make an appointment with the Chemistry Librarian (Contact information shown on the Library Contact box on the right column of the Access SciFinder tab).
Termination of SciFinder Scholar Client Version
The access to SciFinder via the Client version has been terminated on June 30, 2011. Please start using the web version of SciFinder as instructed above.
Switch to the web version from the client version
- If you need help with the transition or have suggestion on improving the SciFinder web version, please contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org.
- To convert your client saved .sfr files to .akx files using the new SciFinder file conversion tool
- SciFinder supports certain operating systems, browsers, and requires Java plug-in and certain version of Java. If the structure editor does not act normally, check your computer to see if meets requirements on this page http://www.cas.org/products/scifinder/system-requirements-web There is also a non-Java structure editor with limited features available for you to choose.