Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Chemistry

Guides on using library services and selected resources including journals, databases, ebooks, reference works, etc., for research in chemistry, including: analytical, organic, inorganic, biological, and physical chemistry.

General Handbooks

CRCHBCP

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Online

One of the most accessed scientific reference. Contains frequently used physical and chemical property data. The latest online edition (92nd edition, 2011-2012) allows chemical structure search for property information.

 

 

   

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry

Standard reference covers all fields in Chemistry, including organic and inorganic compound physical property data, thermodynamic data and other physical chemistry data, spectroscop, electrochemistry, and sections for polymer, rubber, fats and wax etc.

Lbhandbook

Springer Materials - Landolt-Börnstein: Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology 

Large collection of chemical and physical data in material sciences. It comprises 400 Landolt-Bornstein volumes, 44,000 chemical safety documents, a subset of the Dortmund Data Bank Sofatware & Separation Technology comprising 300,000 data points, and the Linus Pauling files on inorganic solid phases. SpringerMaterials is expanded and updated quarterly.

EncyEle

Encyclopeida of the Elements

Provides both an important database for professionals as well as detailed reading ranging from historical facts, discoverers' portraits, colour plates of mineral types, natural occurrences, and industrial figures to winning and refining processes, biological roles and applications in modern chemistry, engineering and industry.

 

 

THE PERIODIC TABLE OF THE ELEMENTS (C&EN 80 Years Edition)

 

PerryHBChE

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook 

Covers physical properties of chemicals and other materials; mathematics; thermodynamics; heat transfer; mass transfer; fluid dynamics; chemical reactors and chemical reaction kinetics; transport and storage of fluid; heat transfer equipment; psychrometry and evaporative cooling; distillation; gas absorption; liquid-liquid extraction; adsorption and ion exchange; gas–solid, liquid–solid and solid–solid operations; biochemical engineering; waste management, materials of construction, process economics and cost estimation; process safety and many others.

DIPPA

DIPPR Project 801 - Full Version

Provides source of evaluated standard thermophysical property values in Knovel's interactive format. Nineteen fully searchable and filterable interactive tables enhanced with the equation plotter applet for graphical representation of the data provide a convenient access to a wealth of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design

DOSE

Dictionary of Substances and their Effects 

Detailed information about the toxicity of the chemicals, physical properties and regulatory requirements is also presented.

KirkOthermEncy

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 

Covers articles of risk management, enterprise resource planning, outsourcing, combinatorial synthesis and technology, functional foods, process automation, electronic chemicals, specialty silicones, mergers and acquisitions, nanoparticles, bioinformatics, ISO 14000, micron-scale chemical analysis, medical applications of biodegradable materials, product development strategies, drug discovery strategies, chemistry of aging, single-site catalysis, custom manufacturing, and global chemical market.

UllmanHB

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry 

A reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry internationally.

PhaseGraphOnline

ACerS NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online

Online source of 23,000 critically evaluated phase diagrams for oxides, salts, carbides, nitrides, borides, compound semiconductors, and chalcogenides.

InterTableCryst

International Tables for Ctysallography

International Tables for Crystallography is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography and structural science. The online version of International Tables for Crystallography provides access to the content of the full set of all eight volumes in the series in pdf and richly linked html format.

Online References for Sub-disciplines

Organic Reactions

Organic Reactions

A comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, including a critical discussion of each reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reaction. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. Publication entails a comprehensive peer-review process, ensuring the high quality and attention to detail for which this series is noted. Organic Reactions currently consists of over 140,000 reactions and will continue to grow annually. Organic Reactions Wiki Page provides easier access to chapters and also new unpublished chapters still in writing process.

OrgSyn

Organic Synthesis

Provides open access to detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.

 

eEros

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (e-EROS)

Contains a database of approximately 70,000 reactions and 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents. Fully searchable by structure and sub-structure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, and keyword. Also includes a searchable interface: Acronym finder (an interface for Scientific and technical acronyms, symbols, and abbreviations).

Fiesers

Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis 

An essential reference that has provided generations of chemists with the latest in reagent literature. Iincludes an A to Z listing of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. All information about a particular reagent is collected in one single article. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.

patai

Paitai's Chemistry of Functional Groups

Patai covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups – an essential tool for the organic chemist – including physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, chapters on synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies as well as applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology. This is the most complete, comprehensive work in functional group chemistry. The uniqueness of its content is two-fold, its review style giving additional understanding beyond reactions and data and the breadth of the coverage, specifically in the areas of physical organic chemistry and analytical techniques.

EncyChemPhysics

Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry

Offers extensive coverage in the closely related areas of chemical physics and physical chemistry.

Comprehensive natural products II

Comprehensive natural products II: Chemistry and Biology

This work presents a definitive interpretation of the current status of and future trends in natural products-a dynamic field at the intersection of chemistry and biology concerned with isolation, identification, structure elucidation, and chemical characteristics of naturally occurring compounds such as pheromones, carbohydrates, nucleic acids, and enzymes.

Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry

Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry

A comprehensive analytical chemistry reference, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques. The level of detail is similar to that of a laboratory protocol and, together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. The Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also facilitates preparation of procedures, protocols, and 'cookbooks'.

ComprehensiveAnalChem

Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry 

presents the basic principles, recent developments and important applications of analytical chemistry. The volumes in this handbook discuss in depth topics regarding experimental phenomena, major advances, experimental approaches, essential instrumental methods, theoretical strategies and important applications within the field. The comprehensive coverage covered in this handbook generates a broad appeal for graduate students and researchers in academia and industry interested in analytical chemistry.

EncyAnalSci

Encyclopedia of Analytical Science

provide a detailed and comprehensive publication covering all facets of the science and practice of analysis.

EIBC

Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry

Reviews the latest thinking and developments as well as in-depth coverage of core concepts in the field. Information is grouped specifically for each major element; by its relations within the periodic table such as electronic structure or coordination chemistry; by detailed descriptions of singular compounds or by the applications or methods of the inorganic or bioinorganic material.

HBInorganicSUb

Handbook of Inorganic Substances 2012

Overview of 100 years of literature in one volume Over 100 000 distinct inorganic substances at one glance Data from over 72 000 scientific articles published in more than 1000 different journals

 

Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology

Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology

Illuminates the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences, supports the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology and provides relevant and readily accessible information to upper-level students and to scientists in adjacent disciplines.

EncyBioChem

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry

Addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences.

MerckIndex

The Merck Index Online

For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. (See print version here). The Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index* Online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
EncyPolymer

Encyclopedia of polymer science and technology

Provides information about polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes.

HOPS

Handbook of Porphyrin Science

represents a timely ongoing series dealing in detail with the synthesis, chemistry, physicochemical and medical properties and applications of polypyrrole macrocycles.

 

HandbookGreenChem

Handbook of Green Chemistry

covers highly topical areas in green chemistry such as feedstocks, green chemical engineering, green catalysis (homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis), separation techniques and solvents like supercritical fluids, ionic liquids and reactions in water. It covers the big environmental and product design issues faced by chemists such as how to make nanoscience greener, design safer, sustainable and less toxic chemicals and make chemical synthesis a greener and more sustainable process. In the final 3 volumes, the Handbook of Green Chemistry covers green products, the chemical engineering behind their processing and what makes a green product vital for industry.