Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Chemistry

Guides on using library services and selected resources including journals, databases, ebooks, reference works, etc., for research in chemistry, including: analytical, organic, inorganic, biological, and physical chemistry.

Database Highlight

ThomsonReuterLogo

Web of Science

Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals. Is a good choice for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.

SFlogo

SciFinder

Combined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure or substructure, reaction, name, formula, etc. or natural language queries. Database use restricted to current UM-affiliates only. Requires to create an individual user account to access. 

Reaxyslogo

Reaxys (Beilstein, Gmelin and Chemistry Patent)

Combined web access to Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database. Search by chemical structures or reactions to retrieve physical/chemical properties, spectra, related reactions, description of reactions as well as references to the literature in which the data appear. It also includes the synthesis planner tool.

PubMedLogo

PubMed (With MGetIt Link)

PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 15 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides links between article citations and relevant data in other NCBI ENTREZ databases, including Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.

ThiemeLogo

 

Science of Synthesis

Science of Synthesis: Houben–Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations. Online synthetic methodology tool providing full-text reviews of organic and organometallic transformations as well as experimental procedures.

Scopuslogo

 

Scopus

International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.   Searchable by cited-reference (forward citation searching).  Covers journals, patents, and websites (16,500+ titles) from 4,000+ publishers. Citation counts back to 1996.

ProQuestlogo

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Indexing & authors' abstracts for 90% of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses accepted each year in North America, plus thousands more from around the world. Includes free full-text (in PDF) to all U-M and CIC/Big Ten Universities' dissertations since 1997.

CCDC

Cambridge Structural Database

Cambridge Structural Database is a repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structure. It contains over 500, 000 x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses. It provides 3D structures with respective coverage of the published literature. The structural data is curated and enriched with bibliographic, chemical and physical property information. More than 40,000 new structures are added to the database each year. The database is useful for Crystallography, Structure-based drug design, Medicinal chemistry, Pharmaceutical formulation and development, Material science, and Education.

 

Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)

CSD is the world's largest database for completely identified inorganic crystal structures. ICSD contains about 156,000 peer-reviewed data entries, including their atomic coordinates, dating back to 1973. You may download the .cif file and bibliographic info directly or export a batch of them at once.

EngVillageLogo

Inspec

On ENGINEERING VILLAGE platform, covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceedings papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Good for topics on Chemical Physics and solid matters.

toxnet

TOXNET

Toxicology data, citations and abstracts for the toxicology literature, Toxic Release Information (annual estimated releases of toxic chemicals to the environment), and chemical information (nomenclature, identification, structures). Searchable by structures.

SDBSlogo

SDBS

Free database of chemical spectra. IR, MS, NMR spectra. Organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.

NISTlogo

NIST Chemistry WebBook

Chemical, physical & spectroscopic data of many chemical substances . Includes IR, NMR, MS, UV, thermochemical data for substances & reactions, etc. Searchable by structure, formula, and property values. Compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program

 

MarinLit

MarinLit is a database dedicated to marine natural products research. The database was established in the 1970s by Professors John Blunt and Murray Munro at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand. Comprehensive coverage of marine natural products in journal articles, including new and revised compounds, synthesis, ecology and biological activities. MarinLit is text and structure searchable. Queries can be built across a number of fields and parameters. Along with comprehensive information on relevant published articles and compounds, MarinLit provides dereplication tools based on experimental and predicted data.

Aldrichlogo

Sigma-Aldrich Chemical Catalog

Online database of properties and spectra of chemicals sold by Aldrich, Sigma and related companies. Substance data may include IR, NMR, Raman spectra, melting points, etc. and literature references. Searchable by chemical structure, name, and formula.

Related Guides for Databases