Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Elections

Research procedure for identifying books, journal and newspaper articles, campaign finances, campaign ads, political advertising, public opinion polls, and election data.

Journal Articles

Top Journal Indexes
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Substantial holdings of economics, population studies, and statistics journals. Political science journals include: American Journal of International Law (1907+), American Journal of Political Science (1973+), American Political Science Review (1906+), International Organization (1947+), International Studies Quarterly (1967+), Journal of Politics (1939+), Political Science Quarterly (1886+), Public Opinion Quarterly (1937+), and World Politics (1948+). The Advanced Search is the most flexible tool. Use the Download/pdf command to view the entire article on the screen and download a copy.
Features: 19th Century to Last 5 years; scholarly; English only; full text searching only Sample Search: ADVANCED SEARCH/Clinton and "marital infidelity" and 1992/Articles/66 PoliSci Journals
UMich Only
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) Contains full text for more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political science Association (IPSA). Topical coverage includes comparatiove politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organziations, and political theory.  
ProQuest Research Library Indexes over 2,500 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971. Provides full text for articles as early as 1987 from over 1,600 of these journals and magazines. Use the M-Get-It button if text is not indicated as being online.
Features: Indexes 2500 popular and scholarly journals and newsmagazines since the mid-1980s; very current; full text or link to MGetIt for full text Sample Search: schwarzenegger and election?
UMich Only
Alternative Viewpoints
Alternative Press Index The leading guide to the alternative press in North America. Indexes 380 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. 90% are not indexed elsewhere. Use the M-Get-It button to locate the full text of the articles.
UMich Only
Left Index Covers 120+ journals with a leftist viewpoint concerning politics, economics, labor, ecology, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Use the M-Get-It button to locate the full text of materials.
UMich Only
Law Reviews
Lexis-Nexis Academic Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Especially helpful for law reviews, broadcast media transcripts, newspapers, and federal and state court rulings.
UMich Only
Citation Sources
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) A multidisciplinary database covering 1700 journals in the social sciences since 1956. Users can search new articles or the original author of a book or article to determine who is citing it in the current journal literature. Use the M-Get-It button to locate the full text. 
UMich Only