Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

EndNote Essentials

Information on how to use many of the tools and features in EndNote. EndNote can help you store and organize citation information and format bibliographies and papers.

Find Full Text

Find Full Text
EndNote can be configured to work with MGet It, the University of Michigan University Library’s OpenURL resolver.  This means that you can quickly and easily locate full text of the references in your database in the library’s databases and catalog. 

  1. Go to the Edit menu and choose Preferences… (on a Mac, go to the EndNote menu). 
  2. From the list on the left, select Find Full Text.
  3. Check the boxes for all of the options
  4. Type this URL into the OpenURL Path textbox:
             http://mgetit.lib.umich.edu/?
  5. Type this URL into the Authenticate with URL textbox:
           http://proxy.lib.umich.edu/login?url
  6. Click the Save button and close the Preferences dialog box.

 

To use this feature select the reference and go to the Tools menu-Find Full Text.  EndNote will try to locate the full text of the article and attach to the reference.

Configuring OpenURL to work with MGet It

CONFIGURING OPENURL TO WORK WITH MGet It
EndNote can be configured to work with MGet It, the University of Michigan University Library’s OpenURL resolver.  This means that you can quickly and easily locate full text of the references in your database in the library’s databases and catalog.

 

  1. Go to the Edit menu and choose Preferences… (on a Mac, go to the EndNote menu). 
  2. From the list on the left, select URLs & Links.
  3. In the Arguments: box leave all of the information in the box except for one change at the beginning of the information. Replace ?sid=ISI:WOS with ?sid=ISI:endnote
  4. Click the Save button and close the Preferences dialog box.
  5. Set up the OpenURL textbox (see above).


To use this feature, double-click on any reference in your library, then go to the References menu, choose the URL submenu, and select OpenURL Link.