Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

EndNote Essentials

Information on how to use many of the tools and features in EndNote. EndNote can help you store and organize citation information and format bibliographies and papers.

I can't find the style or filter I need?

Other filters and styles

You can find other downloadable filters and styles at EndNote.com's support webpage.

How do I use filters?

Filters are files that translate the data that comes out of the database into something that EndNote can understand. In many cases, a database (for example, Medline) is available from several vendors, but the University of Michigan generally only subscribes through one vendor (in our example, Medline is only available through the OVID interface at U-M). You must match both the database and the vendor in order for the data to import correctly (in our example, you would choose the Medline(OVID) filter, and Medline(CSA), Medline(DIMDI) and Medline(Medscape), all of which do come with EndNote, wouldn't work).

Direct Export

  1. Go to the database and perform a search.
  2. In some way, indicate which records are of interest to you. This usually entails clicking in check boxes, or hitting a "Save" button next to each record.
  3. You may need to submit your marked records. This will usually take the form of an option to "Submit Marks" or "Save selected records" - in Mirlyn, the option is "Save to My Shelf".
  4. View your saved records. There is usually a button that says "Saved Records", "Marked Records", or something like that. Sometimes this step will skip directly on to #5.
  5. Export your selected records.
    Note about Direct Export: clicking "Export" or "Direct Export" may start the Direct Export process, in which the database will send your search results directly to your copy of EndNote. You will need to tell it which library to add the results to; you may need to tell it which Filter to use. Direct export does not work on Macs,
    or on PCs using some browsers or older versions of EndNote.
  6. View your search results in your EndNote Library.

Video of Direct Export from Web of Science

Databases without direct export

Some databases have created a tool that automates the saving and filtering of citations; this is usually called export or direct export.

If direct export does not work, you will need to do the following:

  1. Go to the database and perform a search.
  2. In some way, indicate which records are of interest to you. This usually entails clicking in check boxes, or hitting a "Save" button next to each record.
  3. You may need to submit your marked records. This will usually take the form of an option to "Submit Marks" or "Save selected records" - in Mirlyn, the option is "Save to My Shelf".
  4. View your saved records. There is usually a button that says "Saved Records", "Marked Records", or something like that. Sometimes this step will skip directly on to #5.
  5. Export, save, or download your selected records as a tagged document. Clicking "Export""Save" or "Download" may produce a text file (either popping up a "Save As" window immediately, or putting a text file into your browser window - you will need to choose File > Save As if you see the text in your browser. Once the text file has been saved as a tagged document, go to EndNote, go to File > Import, and choose the saved text file AND the appropriate Filter* (filters are selected in the "Import Option" box.)
  6. View your search results in your EndNote Library.