Skip to main content
Library Research Guides


A guide to resources in mathematics

Selected Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks

    • Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
      A project that is underway at NIST to replace the Abramowitz and Stegun Handbook of Mathematical Functions. The project began in 1999 and the first 20 chapters are due in 2001. (See for more information about the project.)
    • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics (Mathematical Society of Japan)
      Contains articles on mathematics topics, numerical and statistical tables, and lists.
      Call number: QA 5 .N683 1987
      Location: Science Library
    • Encyclopaedia of Mathematics
      Covers recent directions in mathematics research, along with discussions of problems and definitions.
      Call number: QA 5 .M37213 1988
      Location: Shapiro Library Reference Collection
    • CRC Handbook of Mathematical Sciences
      A compendium of mathematical and statistical functions.
      Call number: QA 47 .H24B 1987
      Location: Science Library
    • Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics (MathWorld)
      A free web encylclopedia. A snapshot of the website provided the content of the print CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics.
    • Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs and Mathematical Tables
      volume 55 of National Bureau of Standards Applied Mathematics Series by M. Abramowitz and I. Stegun.
      One of the most highly cited sources of mathematical functions in applied mathematics research.
      Call number: QA 1.U58 no. 55
      Location: Science Library
    • Handbook of Numerical Analysis
      Covers the basic methods of Numerical Analysis,gathered under the following general headings:  Solution of Equations in gRn; Finite Difference Methods; Finite Element Methods; Techniques of Scientific Computing; and Optimization Theory and Systems Science.
    • Handbook of Statisitcs

Covers various aspects of statistical methodology, applications, and recent developments.  It is a series of self-contained reference books. Each volume is devoted to a particular topic in statistics.  The series is addressed to the entire community of statisticians and scientists in various disciplines who use statistical methodology in their work. At the same time, special emphasis is placed on applications-oriented techniques, with the applied statistician in mind as the primary audience.