Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Film & Video Studies / Screen Arts & Cultures

Selected resources useful for conducting research on moving image media of all kinds, including cinema (popular movies, documentaries, animation, etc.), television, and digital media (video games, etc.).

Use these indexes to find articles and news transcripts from recent decades.

Academic OneFile Provides indexing for over 8,000 scholarly journals, industry periodicals, general interest magazines and newspapers, with full text articles included for over 4,200 of them. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
Access World News Full text of over 600 US newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide. Includes Detroit Free Press (1982- ), Detroit News (1999- ), and Chicago Tribune (1985- ).
Google Scholar (with Availability at UMichigan links) Searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links that connect you to the online and print versions held by the U-M University Library.
This version of the free search engine available only to current U-M students, faculty and staff; authentication using your U-M uniqname required.
LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, and transcripts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, CNBC, CNN, Fox, NBC, NPR, and PBS. Useful for locating features, reviews and interviews from newspapers and television appearing since 1980.
ProQuest Research Library Indexes over 3,800 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971, and provides full text for articles as early as 1987 from over 2,500 of them.