Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Film & Video Studies / Screen Arts & Cultures

Selected resources useful for conducting research on moving image media of all kinds, including cinema (popular movies, documentaries, animation, etc.), television, and digital media (video games, etc.).

Use these indexes to find articles from specialized journals and magazines focused on film & video.

FIAF FilmArchive Database Combined access to International Index to Film Periodicals, International Index to Television Periodicals, International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections, and Treasures from the Film Archives, a bibliography of silent films worldwide.
Film Literature Index (FLI) Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
Worldwide Internet access to online version, which contains citations from 1976-2001 only. For 2002-2004, use print volumes located in the Graduate Library Reference Reading Room (2nd floor) at call number: PN 1993 .F484
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) Indexes articles in more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, from 1998 to the present. Covers a broad spectrum of the performing arts including dance, film, television, drama and theater. Retrospectively indexes 63 periodical titles as far back as 1864.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography Indexes thousands of scholarly journals and books concerning linguistic and literary works in the broadest sense--including film and television, and cultural studies related to them.