Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Southeast Asian Studies

This guide provides selected library resources for researching Southeast Asia, including Indonesia, Philippines, and Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Singapore, and Vietnam.

East Timor

Indonesia

Some Notable Collections in Hatcher Graduate Library (Serials & Microforms)

  • Adatrechtbundel (Micro-F X866)
  • Algameen dagblad van Nederlandsch-Indie (Micro-F X 480)
  • Colonial Economy in the Netherlands Indies (Micro-F 5604)
  • Confidential US State Department Central Files (Film 35129)
  • Damesweekblad voor Indie (Film X 1245)
  • Dutch Political Conflict with the Republic of Indonesia (Micro-F 5591)
  • East Timor Question (Micro-F 4105)
  • Excerpta Indonesica (Micro-F X328) ; Web version is also available
  • Indonesia,Memories van Overgave (Micor-F 868)
  • Indonesian Hajj (Micro-F 5460)
  • Indonesian Political tabloids collection (Film 35225)
  • Javanese language manuscripts of Surakarta,Central Java (Film 30161)
  • Political reports and dispatches from the outer islands of the Netherlands East Indies, 1898-1940 (Micro-F 3792)
  • Sources for the study of colonial Indonesia and Dutch colonial policy (Micro-F 4073)
  • War and decolinization in Indonesia (Micro-F 4112)

Philippines

Some Notable Collections in the Hatcher Graduate Library :

  • The Worcester Philippine History Collection (University of Michigan Special Collections Library)
  • American Philosophical Collection Microfilms (cataloged title by title or search under the heading)
  • CCP Encyclopedia of Philippine Art (CD-Rom SE11)
  • Clasicos Tavera (CD-RM SE 2 &3)
  • CONFIDENTIAL U S STATE DEPARTMENT CENTRAL FILES. Philippine Republic, 1945-1949. Internal Affairs (Film 25364)
  • CONFIDENTIAL U S STATE DEPARTMENT CENTRAL FILES. Philippine Republic, 1950-1954. Internal Affairs (Film 25367)
  • CONFIDENTIAL U S STATE DEPARTMENT CENTRAL FILES. Philippine Republic, 1955-1959. Internal Affairs (Film 26721)
  • CONFIDENTIAL U S STATE DEPARTMENT CENTRAL FILES. Philippine Republic, 1960 -January 1963. Internal Affairs (Film 35301)
  • David Steinberg collection Harry M. Dey Papers Filipino Heritage: the making of a nation (CD-Rom SE26)
  • Imperial Imaginings:Dean C. Worcester Ethnographic collection of the Philippines (CD-Rom SE6)
  • Local History Collection (Film 21174)
  • John Larkin microfilm collection Michael Onorato's Papers Morton and Petra Collection Philippine National Bibliography (CD-Rom SE21)
  • Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1911. (Film 33102)
  • Works of Vicente Sotto (Film-25381)

Resources by Bruce Cruikshank

Thailand

Vietnam

Notable Collections :

  • Contribution a l'histoire des mouvements politiques de l'Indochine Francaise documents (Film 19137)
  • CONFIDENTIAL U S STATE DEPARTMENT CENTRAL FILES. INDOCHINA. Internal Affairs, 1945-1949 (Film 23579)
  • CONFIDENTIAL U S STATE DEPARTMENT CENTRAL FILES. INDOCHINA. Internal Affairs, 1950-1954 (Film 23580)
  • CONFIDENTIAL U S STATE DEPARTMENT CENTRAL FILES. INDOCHINA. Internal Affairs, 1955-1959 (Film 27718)
  • FBI FILE ON POWs/MIA IN SOUTHEAST ASIA (Film 32772)

Google