Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

French History

Guide to UM research collections and other resources for the study of French History

Statistics Online

Institut national d'études Démographiques (INED)
Under the joint supervision of the Ministry of Education and Research and the Ministry for Employment, Labour and Social Cohesion, INED's areas of expertise cover not only the study of purely demographic phenomena such as nuptiality, fertility, mortality and migration, but also demography applied to society, economics, public health, human geography, history and more.

Institut National de la Statistique et des études économiques (INSEE)
Official statistics of France, on topics such as population (includes the census), labor, economy, health, and much more. In French, with some access in English.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Provides statistical information on France, including topics like the economy, agriculture, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health and quality of life, industry, information and communications, population/labour force, trade and investment, taxation, public expenditure and R&D. Includes the ability to compare data to other countries (exports to Excel).

Census Documents

Many census documents not found in the electronic version of INSEE can be found in print within the library's collections, or at other institutions.

For U-M Library materials, search the online catalog for the subject phrase: France -- Census.

To see what other libraries have, search WorldCat for the subject phrase: France -- Census.

Country Profiles

BBC Country Profiles
Country profiles from BBC News. Freely available website.

Country Profiles (Library of Congress)
These profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.

Economist Intelligence Unit
Online access to EIU publications, reports and data including China Hand, Country Briefings, Country Commerce, Country Finance, Country Profiles, Country Reports, and European Policy Analyst. Limited to authorized UM users.

Europa World
Click on the 'organizations' tab for a worldwide listing of organizations, including NGOs, with contact information. You can sort the list by area of activity and by country.

FAO Country Profiles
Country Profiles from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD. Country profiles are available along with maps and graphs comparing countries' crime, economy, education, energy, environment, goegraphy, government, health, media, military, people, sports and transportation. Freely available website.

UN Data
Official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. Includes indicators such as Millennium

World Bank Country Profiles
Country profiles prepared by World Bank staff are available for 157 nations. Freely available website.

World Book Advanced
General encyclopedia with 26,000+ articles (8,000 more articles than print edition) plus 12,000+ pictures and maps, 100+ videos and animations, 10,000 sounds (including pronunciations), and 7,000 links to editor-approved Web sites. Also includes the World Book Dictionary with 248,000 definitions, the World Book Atlas with 750 maps, and the full text of primary source documents, major literary works, and selected recent articles from magazines.

World Development Indicators
Economic development data from 551 statistical series for 224 countries and ethnic groups of the world, compiled by the World Bank. Specific series and countries/groups can be selected for specific year ranges. UM users only

International Strategic Analysis
Provides overviews of the current economic, social, and political status of various countries, regions, and the world. It also includes unique assessments and forecasts of the business risk in different countries and regions.

World Constitutions Illustrated
Contains the current constitution of every country in the world (193 countries) in its original language. For countries where multiple original-language versions exist, each language is provided. At least one English translation will also be provided.