Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

French History

Guide to UM research collections and other resources for the study of French History

Select Newspapers or News Magazines of Interest

>
Foreign Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries) A database of more than 6,000 foreign newspapers held in print or microfilm by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Searchable by city, country and date range.
CRL can send a large number of reels, with a very generous due date; contact Interlibrary Loan for assistance.
L’humanité Grad Serials/Microforms Film X142 (1904-1939), reprint edition Grad-Folio JN3007.C6 H92 (1939-1942), and online (1990-). Some online coverage of more recent years through Lexis Nexis and Factiva.
Le Monde

Successor to Le Temps.
Grad Serials/Microforms FILM X428 (1944- ). Current issues may be found in Serials Services (2 South Hatcher), and online via Lexis-Nexis (1990- ). A printed index Grad Reference AI 21 .M74 (1944/1945-1950,1958,1965-1968, 1978- ).


Searchable online archive, 1944-present. While you will not be able to read articles in their entirety, you can use the search engine as an index for these years.

Le petit journal (supplément illustré)

Grad Serials/Microforms FILM X2923 (1884-1937)
Le petit parisien Grad Serials/Microforms FILM X2922 (1876-1944), along with the Supplément littéraire illustré (1889-1912).
Le Temps Predecessor to Le Monde.
Grad Serials/Microforms FILM X428 (1862-1942).
Marianne Archive searchable online (1997-present). While all articles are not available in their entirety, you can use the search engine as an index.
Libération Archive searchable online (1994-present). While all articles are not available in their entirety, you can use the search engine as an index.
Nouvel Observateur Grad Serials/Microforms FILM X793, 1964-2002. Archive searchable online (1999-present). While all articles are not available in their entirety, you can use the search engine as an index.
Le Figaro Scattered online coverage through Gallica, from 1826-1942.
L'Express 1962-2012 in Buhr, recent issues in Serials/Microforms. 2002-present available online through Lexis Nexis.
Le Point 1977-present in Hatcher, 1995-present available online in LexisNexis.

Library PressDisplay

Library PressDisplay provides access to issues from the last week to 60 days (coverage varies by title) of over 300 newspapers from around the world. The newspapers include the same content and are in the same format as the print edition of the newspaper. Some titles have "SmartNavigation" permitting individual articles to be printed out or heard in an audio version. [Access limited to 3 users at a time.]

Newspapers in French:

  • 24 Heures Montreal
  • Abitibi Express ouest Rouyn Noranda
  • Abitibi Express Valée de l'Or
  • Al Ahram Hebdo
  • Aujourd'hui en France
  • Autonet
  • Autonet.ca
  • Avenir PaT - Montreal-Est
  • CASA
  • Cites Nouvelles
  • Courrier Ahuntsic
  • Courrier Bordeaux-Cartierville
  • Courrier Laval
  • Femina
  • Finance et Investissment
  • Flambeau Mercier-Anjou
  • Guide de Montreal-Nord
  • Haiti Liberte
  • Hebdo Rive Nord
  • Journal De Rosemont
  • Journal Le Lac St-Jean
  • L'Action
  • L'Action D'Autray
  • L'Autre Voix
  • L'Avenir de l'Erable
  • L'Echo de La Tuque
  • L'Echo de Maskinonge
  • L'Equipe
  • L'Etoile
  • L'Etoile du Lac
  • L'Eveil
  • L'Express
  • L'Express D'Outremont
  • L'Express Montcalm
  • L'Express Ottawa
  • L'Hebdo du Saint-Maurice
  • L'Hebdo Journal
  • L'Hebdo Mekinac des Cheneaux
  • L'Horizon (Kapuskasing)
  • L'Informateur
  • La Capitale
  • La Concorde
  • La Liberte
  • La Meuse
  • La Nouvelle
  • La Nouvelle Gazette
  • La Nouvelle Union 
  • La Petite-Nation
  • La Revue
  • La Revue des Affaires
  • La Tribune
  • La Voix des Mille-Iles
  • La Voix du Luxembourg
  • La Voix du Sud
  • La Voix Pop
  • Le 10 Sport
  • Le Bulletin
  • Le Courrier
  • Le Courrier Sud
  • Le Figaro
  • Le Journal de L'Habitation
  • Le Journal de Montreal
  • Le Journal de Quebec
  • Le Journal du Dimanche
  • Le Magazine de l'Iles-des-Soeurs
  • Le Matin
  • Le Matinal
  • Le Messager La Salle
  • Le Messager Lachine & Dorval
  • Le Messager Verdun
  • Le Monde
  • Le Nord
  • Le Plateau
  • Le Progres de Coaticook
  • Le Progres Villeray
  • Le Reflet du Lac
  • Le Soir
  • Le Trait d'Union
  • Les Echos
  • Les Gladiateurs du Ring
  • Les Nouvelles Saint-Laurent
  • Metro (French Edition)
  • Nord Info
  • Nouvelles Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
  • Point de Vue Laurentides Express
  • Point De Vue Saint Agathe
  • Premiere edition
  • Progres Saint-Leonard
  • Quebec Hebdo
  • Rive-Sud Express
  • Section IMMO
  • Tele-Horaire
  • Tribune De Geneve
  • Télé-Horaire / Le Petit Journal
  • Weekend

Find French Newspapers Online

The BnF has compiled a newspaper collection called Nouveautés Presse et revues (housed in Gallica, the BnF's digital library), which is a rich online archive of French newspapers from the nineteenth century and first half of the twentieth century. This collection is keyword searchable, and includes titles such as Journal des débats politiques et littéraires, Le Temps, Le Figaro, L'Humanité, La Presse, and La Croix.