Skip to main content
Selected Web Resources
- History of Education - Selected Moments of the 20th Century - Short pieces with bibliographies on notable events in education during the twentieth century.
- Slates, Sliderules, and Software: Teaching Math in America - A look at the evolution of math technology.
- Blackwell Museum at Northern Illinois University - Dedicated to promoting interest in the history of American education. It's One Room Schoolhouse display has some interesting and useful information.
- Clarke Historical Library at Central Michigan University - The Clarke Historical Library collects historical curricular materials and this website has some useful links to sites that will be of interest to those who are researching historical curricular materials as well as those interested, in general, in the history of American education. Under the Resources tab, for instance, there is a link to a bibliography of children's schoolbooks.
- History of American Education Web Project - Put together by Professor Barger at Eastern Illinois University.
- Jane Johnson Collection - Collection of teaching aids made by a parent, Jane Johnson, in the middle of the 18th century to teach her son.
- Bibliography of the History of American Education - Extensive bibliography compiled by an emeritus professor at the University of Wisconsin.
- History of Education and Childhood - Ongoing research, syllabi, links to teaching websites, archives and other source materials.
- History of Education - Selected Moments of the 20th Century - Education during the 20th century prepared by decades.
- The Homeroom - Information on the history of education in British Columbia including a database of textbooks used from 1870-1930.
- History of Literacy - Maintained by the History of Reading SIG of the International Reading Association.
- University of South Carolina Student Exams 1854-1917