Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Education

Library resources that would be useful for doing research on an education topic.

Selected Online Reference Sources

 

Encyclopedia of Education

 

 

 

A good basic education encyclopedia.

Umich only.

 

World Education Encyclopedia

 

 

Descriptions of education systems arranged by country.

Umich only.

Encyclopedia of African American Education
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning
Encyclopedia of Education Law
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity and Talent
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Encyclopedia of Language and Education

Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education

Encyclopedia of Special Education

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education

Encyclopedia of Adolescence

International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies

 

International Encyclopedia of the

Social and Behavioral Sciences

 

An excellent general social science encyclopedia.

Umich only.

MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia
21st Century Education
Educator's Desk Reference Identifies publishers, journals, standardized tests appropriate for education reference. Held in the Gradaute Library Reference Room: LB 1028.7 .U6 F741 2002
Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources Published in 2000 it is now a bit out of date but still has useful information about key reference and information resources in education. Held in the Graduate Library: Z 5811 .O27 2000
Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools Held in the Graduate Library Reference Room: LB 1771 .R43
Patterson's American Education Comprehensive list of public and private schools arranged by state and then by city. Latest year held at the Graduate Library Reference Desk: L 901 .P3
Directory of Curriculum Materials Centers Guide to curriculum centers in the United States and Canada that support professional programs in teacher education. Held in the Graduate Library: LB 3044 .L52 2009
Handbook of Reading Research Held in the Graduate Library: LB 1050 .H2781
Handbook of Research on Teacher Education Held in the Graduate Library: LB 1715 .H2741
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children Held in the Graduate Library: LB 1119 .H251
The Law of Higher Education Held in the Graduate Library: KF 4225 .K36 2006
A Bibliography of American Educational History Held in the Graduate Library: Z 5815 .U5 B58