Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Education

Library resources that would be useful for doing research on an education topic.

Selected Library Databases with Education Content

ERIC

The premier education index that includes abstracts and full-text of journal articles and documents dealing with a wide variety of education research topics. 

Use the MGetIt link to get to the full text of ERIC journal articles that are available online. ERIC documents that are not available online full text are in Serials/Microforms on the second floor of the Graduate Library under the call number: MICRO-F X205. You will need the ED accession number to find the correct microfiche.


UMich Only for the ProQuest interface. Available to the general public at http://www.eric.ed.gov

See introduction to searching ERIC via ProQuest video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=II_pSwTsXYo

Education Abstracts (with Full Text)

An index of journal articles covering a wide range of education topics. Education Abstracts covers journals comprehensively. It is a smaller database than ERIC and there is overlap of journal titles but there are some journals covered in Education Abstracts that are not indexed in ERIC. Use the MGetIt link to navigate to the full text of the articles that are available online.


UMich Only

PsycInfo

Citations to literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes citations to journal articles, books, chapters from books, and dissertations.

Note the many useful limiters that are available in the Advanced Search including: Age Groups, as well as Empirical Study, Qualitative Study, and Literature Review (in Methodology). Use the MGetIt link to navigate to the full text of the journal articles that are available online. Dissertations that are not available online from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

UMich Only

Sociological Abstracts

Citations to literature in sociology. Includes citations to journal articles, books, chapters from books, dissertations, and conference proceedings.

Use the MGetIt link to navigate to the full text of the journal articles that are available online. Dissertations that are not available online from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. To retrieve Sociological Abstracts' association papers, you must contact the author of the paper.

UMich Only

Web of Science

An interdisciplinary index of scholarly journals from all fields of study. Besides searching by author, topic, etc. it is also possible to search for articles that cite a known author or work using the Cited Reference Search link. Use the MGetIt link to navigate to the full text of the journal articles that are available online.

UMich Only

Higher Education Abstracts

Abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, and research reports. Very clunky interface but leads to some useful citations.

UMich Only

Education Administration Abstracts

 

British Education Index - Free Collections Searches the pre-print literature in the field of education and training provided by the British Education Index.
Chinese Educational Resources Information Centre Developed in Honk Kong, this database aims to emulate ERIC in providing resources relevant to those researching education in Chinese societies.
EdResearch Online Search entries from the Australian Education Index. Use Interlibrary Loan to get free access to articles the University Library does not own.
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities

Publishing information about education journals in educational technology, curriculum and methods, and educational psychology and administration. Includes acceptance rates.

UMich Only

ProQuest Research Library

Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600, including many in the area of education.

Web of Knowledge

Provides cross-search of multiple databases: ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (citation indexes), Current Contents Connect (tables of contents), Biosis Previews, and Medline. Also provides links (under "Additional Resources") to Journal Citation Reports, Scientific WebPlus, ISIHighlyCited.com, BiologyBrowser, Index to Organism Names, ResearcherID.com, and Science Watch.