Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

British and American History

Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in British and American history.

Full Text Resources

 

ACLS History E-Book Project Full text of over 500 books on American, European and Middle Eastern History as well as the History of Technology. Titles may be searched or browsed. Approximately 250 added yearly. Published by the American Council of Learned Societies.
Restricted to UM users.
American Indian History and Culture This database provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, maps and charts, and photographs. Updated semiannually.
Restricted to University of Michigan Users
American Memory (Library of Congress) American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections
Open to all users.
Black Thought and Culture Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature and art.
Restricted to UM users.
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) Page images and searchable full-text of most books and pamphlets published in the U.S./American colonies before 1801. Covers every aspect of American life including history, literature, religion and foreign affairs. Includes 36,000 titles.
Restricted to U of M users
Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
Restricted to U of M users
Early Canadiana Online Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in literature, women�s history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada.
Open to all
Early English Books Online This database includes the complete page images of 96,000 volumes in all subject areas published in Great Britain or in the English language between 1475 and 1700, and represented in the English Short Title Catalog and Thomason Tracts. Uses DjVu plug-in.
Restricted to University of Michigan users.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Digital images of 150,000 books published between 1701 and 1800. Allows full-text searching of 33 million pages in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Restricted to U of M users
Empire Online Over 60,000 images of original manscripts and printed material related to: Cultural Contacts; Empire Writing; the Invisible Empire; Religion and Empire; Race, Class & Colonialism. Covers Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania & South Asia. 1492-1962
Restricted to U of M users
Historic Documents CQ Press primary documents covering significant events of each year, including presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. 1972-
Restricted to U of M users
Making of America (at University of Michigan) A full-text digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. Currently contains over 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles on all topics.
Open to all users.
Making of America (Cornell University) A full-text digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. 
Open to all users.
Making of Modern Law: legal treatises 1800-1926 A searchable, full-text database of over 21,000 English language legal treatises from the U.S., 1800-1926
Restricted to UM users
Making of Modern Michigan The Making of Modern Michigan is a collaborative project involving more than 50 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.
Open to all users
Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850 Full-text of more than 60,000 books, published from 1450-1850, with a focus on economics in the broadest sense. Topics covered include agriculture, commerce, finance, manufacturing, politics, slavery, social conditions, trade, and transportation.
Restricted to UM users.
Mass-Observation Archive Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965. The material at the Mass Observation Archive, and now on Mass Observation Online, offers an unparalled insight into everyday life in Britain.
Restricted to UM users.
Medieval Realms Medieval Realms is a comprehensive collection of original source material for the Middle Ages in Britain. It contains images of manuscripts, artefacts and buildings together with transcripts and translations into modern English of key written sources.
Restricted to University of Michigan users.
Michigan County Histories Collection of digitized reproductions of Michigan county atlases and histories as a resource for historical and genealogical research. Content includes selected titles from Loomis' Michigan Biography Index, Bentley Historical Library holdings and County 1866-1926
Open to all users
The Gerritsen Collection- Women's History Online 1543-1945 The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition ...
Restricted to University of Michigan users.
Transportation History Collections: Railroads Contains a unique body of printed and visual materials on transportation technology and travel. International in scope, subjects include ballooning & dirigibles, early roads, automobiles, canals, bridges, carriages & coaches, and most notably, railroads.
Open to all users.
United States and its Territories: 1870-1925 Comprises full text of books and government documents published in the US, Spain & the Philippines.The primary focus of the material is the Spanish-American war and subsequent governance. Text collection is complemented by digitized images.
Open to all users.
Women and Social Movements in the US Includes tens of thousands of primary documents, document projects with introductory essays, a definitive bibliography, related web links, a Dictionary of Social Movements, and an enormous collection of images. The project will continue to grow each year.

Library Contact

Maura Seale's picture
Maura Seale
Contact:
209 Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
734-647-9301
Website / Blog Page