Skip to main content

Grants and Fundraising: Home

Resources, strategies, and information on grant-seeking. This includes finding funders, proposal writing, university processes, and related topics. Online and print resources on grant-getting are included.

Foundations/Grants Services

Email us for help with:

  • Individual consultations to find potential grants or funders
  • Access to multiple grant databases
  • Assistance with research on foundations
  • Group instruction on using resources to find potential grant opportunites

 

  • Darlene Nichols - Social Sciences and Community Non-Profits, dpn@umich.edu
  • Paul Grochowski - Sciences and Engineering, grocho@umich.edu
  • Merle Rosenzweig - Health Sciences, oriley@umich.edu
  • Jason Imbesi - Fine and Performing Arts, imbesij@umich.edu

The Foundation Center

The Graduate Library houses a Foundation Center Funding Information Network collection devoted to foundations and grant-seeking resources. The print collection is located in the Reference Reading Room on the second floor of Hatcher North. This collection is open to the public as well as to the University community.  Additionally, three databases are accessible within the walls of the Library via: http://fconline.foundationcenter.org/fin/

ORSP

The Office of Research and Sponsored Projects administers grants from external funders for the entire University. They also maintain the Sponsored Awards on the Web, or SAW, database.

Office of Foundation Relations

The Office of Foundation Relations has many useful resources for faculty at the University.

Funding Databases

Foundation Directory Online (FD Online) Published by The Foundation Center, FD Online is the most comprehensive database for finding foundation support. FD Online includes records for 100,000 grantmakers and over 500,000 grants. Updated weekly.
Authentication required.
Foundation Directory Online Guided Tour
Pivot

A directory of research funding opportunities and researcher profiles. If you create an account, you can save your search results, search terms, send information to others, and more. More than 22,000 records representing over 400,000 funding opportunities from all types of funders. Updated daily.
Authentication required. For University of Michigan affiliates only OR use within the Library.

Pivot Tutorials

Pivot YouTube Instruction Videos

Michigan Grants Opportunities Online

Electronic Grants Administration & Management System (EGrAMS) is an electronic resource for finding grants in the state of Michigan.

EGrAMS tutorial

Sponsored Programs Information Network (SPIN)

SPIN is a searchable database that is targeted primarily to institutions of higher education. It currently contains information from more than 2,500 different sponsoring agencies, which comprise more than 11,000 separate funding opportunities. 

Authentication required. For University of Michigan affiliates only OR use within the Library.
SPIN Training Videos  

 Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (GTIO)

Published by The Foundation Center, GTIO provides funding opportunities from nearly 2,000 programs that fund individual grantseekers.
Authentication required. Building access only, in the Hatcher Shapiro Complex.
>Grants to Individuals Online tutorial

European Foundation Center The EFC is a membership association of foundations and corporate funders that supports the work of its members. This is a page they have put together that has links to lists of foundations operating all over the world, including Europe and Latin America.
Grants.gov (Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance) A searchable database of every federal funding program available. Records include program scope, eligibility requirements, deadlines, and contacts.
Guidestar Premium

GuideStar's database contains data on more than 900,000 public charities, approximately 118,000 private foundations, and nearly half a million other exempt organizations in the United States. Federal 990 forms can be accessed through Guidestar.
Authentication required for UM affiliates OR use within the Library.

Exempt Organizations Select Check List of all tax-exempt organizations in the U.S., as recognized by the Internal Revenue Service. Indicates what portion of a contribution to an organization is tax deductible.
The Foundation Center A comprehensive source for news and information on U.S.-based foundations. Resources include: searchable archives of Philanthropy News Digest, Foundation Finder, Philanthropy Search Engine for the web (Sector Search), 990-PF forms, a virtual classroom with online tutorials for proposal writing, budgeting and more.
 Foundation Maps A global data visualization tool that allows one to map grant-maker and grant recipient data over a variety of health, socio-economic, demographic and educational data.

Subject Guide

Darlene Nichols

Library Help

Service offline?
View additional contact methods.