Provides 700,000 definitions of 476,000 words, including 5,000 new entries added since the publication of the most recent print edition, plus: etymologies; illustrative quotations from skilled writers and additional example sentences to clarify meanings; synonyms and antonyms; usage guidance for commonly misused words; nearly 1,000 pictorial illustrations; audio pronunciations; and expanded & advanced search features including access to the Merriam-Webster citation files Incorporates other Merriam-Webster reference works including the Collegiate® Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Encyclopedia; Medical, Spanish-English, and French-English Dictionaries.
New web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language. Provides definitions, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world, with over 3 million quotations documenting how and when they have been used over time. Also incorporates the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, where words are arranged by their meaning rather than alphabetically.
The Dictionary of American Regional English documents regional aspects of English language usage in the U.S., including variations in words, phrases, and pronunciation. In addition to searching, the online version of DARE allows you to browse by region using an interactive map. You can also create your own maps based on the extensive survey data and hear audio clips from over 4,000 interview recordings.
Searchable online version of Roget’s 21st Century Thesaurus (3rd edition, 2005), based on Peter Mark Roget's classic Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases. Provides brief definitions of words, with lists of other words with similar meanings (synonyms).
Brill Dictionary of Religion Online (BDR) comprehensively addresses religion as an element of daily life and public discourse. Richly illustrated and with more than 500 entries, the dictionary is a multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment. It is unusual in that it not only addresses the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions but it also gives equal weight and consideration to a multiplicity of other religious phenomena. Brill Dictionary of Religion Online helps map out and define the networks and connections created by various religions in contemporary societies, and provides models for understanding these complex phenomena. Edited by Kocku von Stuckrad. Revised Edition of Metzler Lexikon Religion, edited by Christoph Auffarth, Jutta Bernard and Hubert Mohr. Translated from the German by Robert R. Barr
This best-selling and market-leading dictionary contains over 12,000 clear and concise entries. Written by a team of medical experts, the entries are accessible and jargon-free, and complemented by over 140 illustrations and diagrams. The 8th edition has also been expanded in many areas, with particular attention paid to pharmacology, obstetrics and gynaecology, paediatrics, ethics, nephrology, and psychiatry.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, 2008. Contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 of the world's leading economists. Updated quarterly. Based on The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics, edited by Eatwell, Milgate and Newman, 1987, but with 80% new material. 1987 edition also included; can be searched separately or together with the 2008 edition.