Online version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
Oxford Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Oxford Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Oxford Music Online is also pleased to continue featuring Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006), for those who have purchased perpetual access to the online version. The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, EPM is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and incredibly fun to read. Oxford Music Online was created with the latest in online technology to give users a robust and unique research experience. Sophisticated search options allow users to refine their search or browse results by source and specific era or subject category. Users can also choose to view biographies or subject entries only. Advanced search options provide powerful tools for content navigation, including biography searching, bibliography searching, and the ability to easily search within longer, multi-section articles. Timelines and topical guides offer specific pathways into the content. Context-sensitive Help pages guide users through the site's features and functionality. Oxford Music Online offers the most extensive and easily searchable online music resource available, a virtual music library of unparalleled scope and depth.
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of research review articles from the Oxford Handbooks series published by Oxford University Press. Covers 13 subject areas including archaeology, business & management, classics, economics & finance, history, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, politics, psychology, religion, and criminology.
Contains over 300 full-text volumes, in 15 subject areas, published from 1960-2014. Volumes provide authoritative historical essays and bibliographies on topics ranging from the First World War to U.S. Foreign Relations. In addition to world history, this collection also covers the histories of subjects including language and linguistics, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religion, theater and performing arts, and warfare. All chapters may be read online or downloaded as PDFs.
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia of Islam contains the entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental printed edition. Additional search facilities, enhanced by the inclusion of two original indices (Index of Proper Names, Index of Subjects) and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages. The Encyclopaedia also permits searching in both English and Arabic transcription.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a comprehensive reference resource covering the philosophical canon and philosophy from all continents and all periods. It contains 2,053 entries (from 500 to 19,000 words in length) contributed by 1,264 leading experts in 36 countries.
This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. Includes over 400 signed articles on all aspects of international studies. Published in print in 12 volumes in 2010. Edited by Robert A. Denemark, this work is a product of the International Studies Compendium Project and is published in association with the International Studies Association. Includes topic areas such as peace studies, diplomacy studies, foreign policy analysis, global development and environmental studies.
Based on the scholarship in the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Africa, aimed at college and graduate students, this work presents Africa, from Egypt to Cape Town and from prehistoric times to the present day, in a format accessible to high school students. This set spans many disciplines, covering animals, foods, holidays and festivals, tribal groups, ecology, music and art, trade and economy, geography, religion, folklore, and fossil and skeletal discoveries. Included as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library
The following titles are available now, and more will be added regularly. Brill’s Encyclopedia of China Online Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature Online: A Research Guide (volume I) eds. D.R. Knechtges & T. Chang. A Biographical Dictionary of the Qin, Former Han and Xin Periods (221 BC – AD 24) Online by M. Loewe. A Biographical Dictionary of Later Han to the Three Kingdoms (23–220 AD) Online by R. de Crespigny.
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically. For students and general readers.
Provides thorough, up-to-date overviews of a broad range of contemporary scientific and technical topics, including the latest developments in nearly 100 fields, and well-illustrated, detailed coverage of major discoveries, breakthroughs, and milestones. Contains more than 7,000 articles by 5,000 contributors, with 12,000 digitally prepared illustrations. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: anthropology, psychology, demography, economics, education, gender studies, law, linguistics,public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
This encyclopedia of psychology and related fields has over 1200 entries contributed by 700 experts worldwide. Fourth edition updated and expanded to include much new material. Edited by Irving B. Weiner and W. Edward Craighead.