A consolidated index to more than 12 million biographical articles appearing in English-language Who's Who-type publications, major biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, directories and indexes.
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 528,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes the Complete Marquis Who's Who, plus thousands of full text articles.
Contains more than 600,000 biographies on more than 528,000 people from around the world and throughout history. Combines more than 135 frequently consulted Gale biographical sources with more than 325 full-text periodicals and journals, more than 27,000 portraits, and thousands of Recent News briefs on high-interest individuals.
Provides online access to thousands of brief and extended biographies of African Americans, both famous and everyday persons, from all time periods. Based on the microfiche set Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950, with additional content.
Contains full text essays outlining the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarizing the critical response to their work. Includes lists of principal works by, and further readings about each author profiled.
The largest available faculty expertise directory, with searchable profiles covering more than 2 million active full-time university faculty in over 200 disciplines at institutions in 31 countries. UM Access only
The largest available faculty expertise directory, with searchable profiles covering more than 2 million active full-time university faculty in over 200 disciplines at institutions in 31 countries. Content is editorially controlled and regularly reviewed for accuracy and currency. Profiles include key biographical information, research interests, publications, patents, grants, honors/awards, and contact information, enabling users to identify, assess, and contact relevant scholars based on their research, publishing, and professional credentials. Also provides links to profiles of co-authors and departmental colleagues. (Incorporates all data formerly available in COS Expertise.)
Profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all eras and walks of American life who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Includes thousands of illustrations, cross-references, and links to select web sites.
UM Access Only
This is the latest edition of a classic reference work: 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002. Hatcher Graduate, Reference Rm. - DA 28 .O951 2004
Due to subscription renewal costs rising dramatically above the rate of inflation, the University Library has not yet agreed to renew our subscription to the online version of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography(ODNB). Although we remain in negotiation with Oxford University Press (OUP) for this title they have opted to cut off our access. Recognizing the importance of this resource to the campus, we have indicated to OUP we would be willing to absorb as much as a 15% price increase over what we paid for our subscription last year. Unfortunately, they have insisted we must pay an increase of 60% in order to maintain our previous access. This is simply not tenable. We continue to hope OUP will reconsider and we will be able to restore online access to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography in the near future.