Skip to main content

Graduate Library Reference Collection Resources: Home

This guide includes information on resources typically found in the Hatcher Graduate Library reference collection.

Introduction

Photo of interior of Reference Reading Room, Hatcher Graduate LibraryThe Reference Collection of the Hatcher Graduate Library includes over 15,000 print volumes and many online resources. Print volumes are located primarily in the Reference Reading Room on the second floor, where they line one of the largest and most popular study spaces on campus (pictured at left).  Some frequently used volumes are housed at the Information and Reference Center Desk located just outside this grand room, while many less used volumes have been transferred to the stacks throughout the building.  

The Online Index to Hatcher Graduate Library Reference Books allows you to search the full text of most of these print volumes published before 2010, and view the full text of those in the public domain (mostly these are works published before 1923).

Online Reference Collections

Use these to search across many different high-quality encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works licensed by the library that you won't find for free on the web.

Online Reference Resources by Type

Click on the tabs across the top of this page for lists of the most popular types of reference resources (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Biographies, etc.).  Below are links to lists of additional types.

Library Networks and Catalogs

Google Book Search

Quick Links

Library Contact

Scott Dennis
Contact:
209 Hatcher Graduate Library
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
(734) 647-6484
Website / Blog Page

Library Help

Service offline?
View additional contact methods.