Sociology

WorldCat is a combined library catalog into which most North American libraries and many others from Australia, Europe, Asia and Africa list the items that they own. It is very useful for finding items that are not at U-M but might be available to you through Interlibrary Loan. Many archival items will not travel, however, and you may have to visit the owning library to view the item.

This is an catalog for holdings of the National Archives and Records Admninistration of the United States. Some digital images of sources are also available through this site.

The National Register of Archives (U.K.) contains information on the nature and location of manuscripts and historical records that relate to British history.

The Law Library is an independent library -- that is, not part of the University Library. Search the Law Library catalog for materials related to the law.

Millions of records describing archival materials held in over 1,000 archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

A database listing over 220,000 archival collections housed at thousands of repositories in the U.S., U.K, and Ireland

This collection contains historical "books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries." American newspapers from 1680-1922 and Hispanic American Newspapers from 1808-1980 are part of the collection.

This is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints.

Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

This is a collection of observations of daily life in Great Britain in the 1940's and '50's.

This is a collection of books and pamphlets on Canada from first European contact to the late 19th century. Includes women's history, native studies, and the history of French Canada.

EEBO is a growing collection of texts published in Great Britain or in English elsewhere between 1475 and 1700.

The ECCO collection consists of the works represented in the English Short Title Catalogue between 1701 and 1800. The corpus contains a diverse number of materials including not only books and broadsides but also Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed printed ephemera by many well-known and lesser-known authors. The 150,000 works of the ECCO corpus captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain, and is essential in order to understand the context of the French, Industrial, and American Revolutions.

Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online features 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. It is particularly strong in tracing the development of feminism.

Guide to a wide variety of news sources available via the U-M library - local, national, global, historical, alternative, and more.

Collection of over half a million images from the Associated Press newswire dating back to 1844.

Includes over 1,000 historical newspapers from 1690-1922.

Includes a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Provides full text searching and page images from 13 major US and international newspapers, from the late 1800s through the beginning of the 21st century. Includes the New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and several others.

A collection of declassified documents from 1945-2002.

Includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. There are page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.

Indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. It includes the full text of reports and documents (1789-1969), hearings (1833-2003), Congressional Record (1985+), Statutes at Large (1789+) and Federal Register (1980+) as well as the current U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations.

A subset of LexisNexis Congressional, contains all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and is a collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history from 1789-1969.

Catalog of publications provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, foreign relations, public health and social issues. Coverage is from 1994 - current. Includes links to items freely available online.

A comprehensive desk reference that contains the most significant historical statistics of the United States from 1789 to 2003, as well as demographic and other select data projections through 2050. Datapedia covers all of the United States' vital sectors, including the labor market, social welfare, and national defense.

A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Tables can be downloaded in Excel or CSV format.