Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Near Eastern Studies

Resources relevant for the study of the Near East from the ancient to the modern period

Searching our Library's Collections

To find book-length literature in our collections, start by searching our online library catalog Mirlyn by subject, title, author, etc.

You'll also find other materials held by our library such as maps, films / DVDs, archival collections, manuscripts, etc.  

To find article-length literature, start by searching ArticlesPlus or one of our more subject-specific Article Indexes / Databases. Look for the MGetIt links indicating items that we have access to.

You may also browse our online journals. 

Searching other Libraries' Collections

Search the WorldCat catalog to find materials held by other libraries (books, archival collections, etc.)

Online Article Indexes / Databases

The following scholarly databases are recommended for your literature search. Most will require UM log-in for access. Others may be more appropriate for your particular topic. To view a more complete listing, browse SearchTools. 

Online Reference Works

Reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, directories, bibliographies, etc.) help resolve questions that come up in the course of study / research. They are also an excellent place to begin research on an unfamiliar topic.  

Additional online reference works are listed in SearchTools and on the other pages of this guide more specific to particular areas of study.

Dissertations / Theses

Newspapers / Periodicals

See more on the Arab World News Sources section of this guide

Photographs / Images

See also the other pages of this guide for additional subject-specific resources

Government Information

See also the national data sets listed under "Middle East & North Africa" on the International, Regional and National Data Sets research guide

Statistical Information