Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Architecture

Provides access to resources related to the study of architecture, construction, and building systems.

Quick Links

Finding El Croquis volumes

The library subscribes to the Spanish architectural magazine, El Croquis.  Because each issue is devoted to a specific architect or architectural firm, it's sometimes difficult to find or even know the volume you want.  Here's an easy way to find out which volume is devoted to the architect you're looking for. Go to the El Croquis Index (click on the word index).  This is a partial list from El Croquis.  You may also look at a list on Wikipedia, which begins with issue 20.  Then go to Mirlyn and enter a search for this call number NA 5 .C71 no. and add the number of the volume you need.  For instance, for no. 92, your call number search in Mirlyn will be  NA 5 .C71 no.92.  Another strategy is to do a Mirlyn search entering the word Croquis and the name of the architect.  For instance the search might be:  croquis holl   to find if we have the Steven Holl volume of El Croquis

Finding Books in Series

Finding books published as part of a series can be difficult. A series is different from a journal or serial.  Generally each book within the series has its own theme and title. For instance, the series Clog, includes books with such titles as Rendering, National Mall, Prisons, etc. The easiest way to find books published within a series (especailly when you don't know the title of the book) is to use Mirlyn Advanced Search. Enter the series name and use the pull down arrow to select Series as your search index.  Two popular series titles with architectural themes are Clog and Pamphlet Architecture.

Databases for Architecture Research

The most appropriate database for finding articles on architectural subjects is the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.  You can find links to the Avery Index by searching in the Find Databases section of Search Tools, or by searching Mirlyn.

Avery and other relevant databases for your research are listed here:

Looking for articles on construction or architectural technology?

In many cases, databases focusing on engineering will be better suited to your architectural technology questions.  If you are working on issues of construction, structures, or materials, try these databases.