Skip to main content
University of Michigan Library
Search this Guide
Chinese Studies: E-Books
A guide to selected digital resources for conducting research in Chinese Studies at the University of Michigan
E-Books in Chinese
"Pishu 皮书": China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database
This database contains over 1000 volumes of 1996-present 'Pishu' (皮书, which literally means ‘cover-books’), high-value analytical reports intended to guide policy-making in the People’s Republic of China.
Duxiu Knowledge Search 读秀学术搜索
You can think of Duxiu as a Google Book Search in Chinese.
Apabi Digital Library 阿帕比电子书
An online collection of Chinese e-books. It contains a collection of yearbooks and many important reference works such as the 汉语大词典. Requires Apabi Reader software (available from the web site).
Super Star Digital Library 超星数字图书馆 (also known as Chinamaxx)
Online library of Chinese e-books.
CADAL: China Academic Digital Associative Library
Online digital library (a.k.a. "China-US Million Book Project"). Contains over a million Chinese books, many of which (especially those published before the Republic Era) are free to the public.
This site contains the Daoist canon compiled during the Zhengtong period of the Ming Dynasty (
正統道藏) in PDF format (non-searchable images), along with a title index.
Taiwan eBook 臺灣華文電子書庫
An open access platform for e-books from libraries in Taiwan. The first phase of 13,000+ titles include books published between 1911 and 1949, government publications, and scholarly materials.
E-Books in Western Languages
ACLS Humanities E-Books
HathiTrust Digital Library
ProQuest Diessertations and Theses
Silk Road Narratives
The Online Book Page
Online book directory. Includes links to many China-related e-books, all of which are free of copyright restrictions.
UC Press E-Books Collection
China research monographs published by the Institute of East Asian Studies, UC Berkeley
Jan 15, 2018 3:48 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
east asian studies