Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Food Studies

Food Studies is an interdisciplinary field that takes a wide thin slice across the arts, humanities and sciences. Food Studies gathers together knowledge about food as it occurs anywhere in established disciplines, to understand relationships.

Other Libraries

Cornell University

HEARTH: Home Economics Archive: HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. 

From Domesticity to Modernity: What Was Home Economics (online exhibit)

Not by Bread Alone: America's Culinary Heritage

Michigan State University

MSU's special collections has an extensive collection of cookbooks, including community cookbooks. 

To find the community cookbook collection, search the library catalog for "community cookbooks" as a subject heading and limit the results to special collections. 

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project

An 'online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century."

The Alan and Shirley Brocker Sliker Culinary Ephemera Collection

"The Alan and Shirley Brocker Sliker Culinary Ephemera Collection contains thousands of food and cookery related publications produced primarily by companies in the United States from the late nineteenth century up to the present. The collection provides a rich resource to study the evolution and history of advertising, food products, individual companies, technology, food preparation, and food production."

University of Iowa

Chef Louis Szathmáry collection
Louis Szathmáry was an influential chef and a passionate collector of cookbooks and manuscripts. His collection is a rich source for both American and European culinary history.

Also see the
Recipe pamphlets and
Finding Aid for Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts

Los Angeles Public Library

Materials on Food and Drink

The LAPL has one of the largest culinary collections in the country, with holdings in periodicals, manuscripts and rare books, besides the Central Library's 20,000+ volume cookbook collection.

Harvard University, Schlesinger Library

Culinary collection
Large collection with wide coverage, including "culinary history, the culinary professions, gastronomy, the history of domestic life and

management, and the role of food in history and culture." Manuscript holdings include papers of several important culinary figures

New York Public Library

Introduction to the culinary collections

The NYPL holds an extensive collection of cookbooks, menus and food-related manuscripts.

Tulane University

Louisiana Research Collection: Food and Restaurants

Focus is on the culinary heritage of Lousiana, including Cajun & Creole cooking and gastronomy.

 

Web Sites