Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Food Studies

Food Studies is an interdisciplinary field that takes a wide thin slice across the arts, humanities and sciences. Food Studies gathers together knowledge about food as it occurs anywhere in established disciplines, to understand relationships.

Databases

References may be found in a wide selection of general and subject-specific databases and journals. Below are a few examples of useful searches

Eating
Drinking
Cooking

Dining
Gastronomy
Cuisine
Foodways
Hunger
Nutrition
   
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online
Limited to authorized UM users
(through validated sign-on)
Contains many important early cookbooks, as well as books on health and diet. Try searches on: Digestion; Cookery
   
EEBO: Early English Books Online
Limited to authorized UM users
(through validated sign-on)
Contains many important early cookbooks and works on food.
Try searches on: Cookery; Dining
Eating
   
Proquest Research Library
Limited to authorized UM users
(through validated sign-on)

Try searches on these terms in the "title" or "citation and abstract" fields:

Beverage(s)
Cooking
Diet
Eating
Food
Recipe(s)
Restaurant(s)

JSTOR
Limited to authorized UM users
(through validated sign-on)

Periodicals useful for searching include:
The Journal of American Folklore
Journal of Economic history
Journal of Interdisciplinary History
Ethnohistory

Try searches on these subjects: Foodways; Food; Cooking; Consumption

America History and Life  

Early American imprints
Limited to authorized UM users
(through validated sign-on)

Series I
Evans (1639-1800)

Series II
Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)

Look in these genres and subjects:

Genres Subjects
Advertisements
Almanacs
Captivity narratives
Catalogues
Cookbooks
County histories
Diaries
Travel literature
Women as authors
Bakers and bakeries
Catalogs, Commercial
Distilleries
Distilling industries
Domestic economy
Farm produce
Flour and feed trade
Flour mills
Liquor traffic
Markets
Produce trade
Salt mines and mining
Slaughtering and slaughter-houses
Sugar trade
Tea trade
Vintners
   
AnthroSource
http://www.anthrosource.net
Worldwide Internet access.
Developed by the American Anthropological Association.  Try searches on: Hunger; Foodways
   
Project Muse
Limited to authorized UM users
(through validated sign-on)
The Journal of Social History publishes reviews of many works of interest for Food Studies. Try searches on: Foodways; Cusine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses  
Agricola
Worldwide Internet access
A National Agricultural Library database for agricultural literature, includes records for articles, books, pamphlets, theses, patents,
multimedia formats, software, and technical reports dating from 1979; also indexes ~1400 journals.
   

Journals

Gastronomica: the journal of food and culture. Hatcher Graduate TX 341 .G37.

Food & history. Hatcher Graduate TX 341 .F66

Nutrition abstracts and reviews.  Public Health Indexes RA 421 .N9621

Anthropology of Food.

MGet It

Already Have a Citation? Learn about MGetIt and citation linking

Citation Linker SFX