University of Michigan
Research & Technology Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | #

A
AAEL Career & Job Information
by Dave Carter - Last Updated Jun 19, 2012
Internet resources for career & job information in art, design, architecture, urban planning, and engineering.
AAEL Orientation
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 8, 2013
Information to help students navigate the library and related resources, specifically focused on AAEL & the Duderstadt Center.
Aerial Photographs Research Guide
by Spatial & Numeric Data Services Staff - Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
A research guide to assist patrons in finding aerial photograph resources.
Aerospace Engineering
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Aerospace Engineering.
African American Studies
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Jul 28, 2010
A Library Resource Guide to African American Studies
African and Diaspora Art and Visual Culture
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated Oct 29, 2012
Guide to research in African and Diasporic Art
African Studies
by Loyd Mbabu - Last Updated May 21, 2012
Suggested resources for research in African studies.
Afro-Americans and the Military, 1939-1945
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Jun 23, 2011
Bibliography of books and web sites related to Afro-Americans in the military.
Aging & Gerontology
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Oct 26, 2012
Finding research and information related to the study of aging and gerontology.
All About Images
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory, Breanna Hamm - Last Updated May 15, 2013
This comprehensive guide focuses on many common image questions in regards to image resolutions, resizing images, file types, vector and raster images, scanning, saving and more.
Allergy and Clinical Immunology
by Marisa Conte, Deborah Lauseng - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
This guide provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in allergy and clinical immunology.
Alpha Kappa Alpha
by Karen Downing - Last Updated Nov 8, 2010
A specialized guide for the AKA sorority.
Alzheimer's Disease Resources
by Kate Saylor - Last Updated Nov 7, 2011
A guide about Alzheimer's resources.
American Culture
by Sigrid Cordell, Charles Ransom - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
This guide provides suggestions for useful reference works, journal indexes, collections, libraries, and web resources for the study of American Culture.
Anesthesiology
by Mark Mac Eachern - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information to help with Anesthesiology research and clinical work.
ANTHRBIO 368/PSYCH 338: Fall 2012
by Scott Martin - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
Anthropology
by Jennifer Nason Davis - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in anthropology
Applied Climate Resources
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 8, 2013
Links to reports, data, resources and services that can help you with your classes and research in the Applied Climate program.
Arab-American Studies
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
This is a guide to finding resources for Arab American Studies at the University of Michigan Library and beyond.
Archaeology
by Jennifer Nason Davis - Last Updated Jan 2, 2013
Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in archaeology
Architecture
by Rebecca Price - Last Updated Apr 24, 2013
This guide provides descriptions of and, in many cases, access to the most commonly used resources for researching the topic of architecture. Use the tabs below to learn about how to find books, articles, and images, etc.
Armenian Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
This guide covers materials in Armenian, from Armenia and/or about Armenian topics. For more information please see the Guide for Central Asian and Caucasian Studies.
Art & Design
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Feb 15, 2013
Click on the tabs below for basic art and design resources at the University of Michigan.
Asian/ Pacific Islander American Studies
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Jul 28, 2010
Asian/Pacific Islander American studies (APIA) is the interdisciplinary study of APIA in American Life. This guide provides important resources for the research of APIA.
Askwith Collection
by Askwith Media Library Staff - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Lists of selected DVDs, blu-ray, and audiobooks in the Askwith Media Library.
Astronomy & Astrophysics
by Jacob Glenn - Last Updated Oct 27, 2011
A guide to useful sources in the field of Astronomy and Astrophysics for UM researchers.
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences.
Australia, New Zealand & the Pacific Islands
by Fe Susan Go - Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
This research guide provides some useful resources for the research of Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.
Automotive Engineering
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
This guide provides useful information related to automotive engineering research.
B
Back to Basics: Computing 101
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Learn about tabbed browsing, right-clicking, finding cache and version information, and more! This guide covers information for both Mac and PC users and covers Firefox, Internet Explorer and Safari.
Band Music Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Jul 28, 2010
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to band music in the Music Library.
Basic Reference Resources
by Scott Dennis - Last Updated Nov 13, 2011
Handy reference resources for fast facts, bibliographic information, and citation style help. (Formerly known as the Ready Reference Shelf.)
Bassoon Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Nov 6, 2012
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the bassoon in the Music Library.
Beilstein & Gmelin User Guide
by Ye Li - Last Updated Jan 12, 2011
This guide provides information on using two important chemistry resources: Beilstein and Gmelin.
Biographical and Historical Resources for Health Sciences
by Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Provides information on locating biographical and historical information in the health sciences.
Bioinformatics
by Marci Brandenburg, Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated May 24, 2013
Resources for those interested in the subject of bioinformatics, the interdisciplinary science that uses information technology to solve molecular biology problems.
Biological Chemistry Resources
by Marci Brandenburg - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Biological Chemistry.
Biological Station
by Scott Martin - Last Updated May 7, 2013
A guide to Library resources for students and researchers at the UM Biological Station in Pellston.
Biology
by Scott Martin - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in biology, including: molecular, developmental, and cell biology; ecology and evolutionary biology; botany; and zoology.
BIOLOGY 171 Research Guide
by Scott Martin - Last Updated Sep 26, 2012
Course guide for the essay assignment for BIOLOGY 171 (Introductory Biology: Ecology and Evolution), Fall 2012, with Professors Barry OConnor and Meg Duffy.
Biomedical Engineering
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
A subject guide of useful resources for biomedical engineering research.
Biostatistics
by Jean Song - Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Biostatistics.
Black Arts Movement
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Oct 5, 2012
Blavin Scholars Guide
by Pam MacKintosh - Last Updated May 15, 2013
A guide tailored to the Blavin Scholars' needs.
Botany
by Scott Martin - Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
A guide for researchers of systematic and taxonomic botany, and those studying plant and fungal diversity at the University of Michigan.
British and American History
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in British and American history.
C
Cambridge Structural Database
by Ye Li - Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
A powerful and flexible resource to discover the knowledge contained within more than 500,000 crystal structures.
Campus Information Centers
by Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated Apr 6, 2012
A guide for Campus Information Centers staff
Campus Support for Faculty Creating Video Resources
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
This guide describes sources of support for faculty who are considering using video as an instructional component in courses.
Campus Technology Resources
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Jan 16, 2013
This guide lists free technology resources that you can try on your own and facilities where you can go get help. It also lists poster printers and software that are available across the campus in special locations. All printing does have a fee.
Cardiovascular Medicine
by Taubman Health Sciences Library, Whitney Townsend - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information related to Cardiovascular Medicine
Carl D. Winberg, MD Presentation Practice Room
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory, Breanna Hamm - Last Updated May 13, 2013
This is your guide to using the Presentation Practice Room. Use this guide to learn how to operate the equipment and use the software in the facility.
Cartography
by Timothy Utter - Last Updated Jun 18, 2012
Information on maps and mapping agencies.
CEE 628-038
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Guide for Civil and Environmental Engineering 628
CEE 679: Infrastructure Systems Project
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
Resources & tips for getting the most out of MLibrary.
Cello Resources
by Jason Imbesi - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the cello in the Music Library.
Central Asian and Caucasian Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Dec 7, 2012
This guide covers Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.
Central European Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Jan 3, 2013
This guide covers countries located in Central Europe, with separate pages for Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania and Hungary.
CFPH Library and Information Resources
by Carol Shannon - Last Updated Nov 9, 2012
An introduction to library and information resources for students in the Certificate in the Foundations of Public Health program.
CHEM 120/BIOPHYS 115: (In)organic Nutrition
by Ye Li - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
This is a guide for literature research in the first-year seminar course "(In)organic Nutrition".
CHEM 447 Physical Methods of Analysis
by Ye Li - Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
A reading list for students in Chem 447
CHEM 648 Analysis Spectroscopic and Imaging
by Ye Li - Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
Recommended reading list for Chem 648 Winter 2013
Chem216 Synthesis and Characterization of Organic Compounds
by Ye Li - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Help you get started with obtaining physical properties and spectroscopic data of substances as well as organic reactions information from Reaxys and other resources.
ChemBioOffice: Professional illustrations and beyond for chemists and biologists
by Ye Li, Scott Martin - Last Updated Apr 8, 2011
Basics for using ChemBioOffice/ChemBioDraw and brief introduction to applications of its different tools
Chemical Engineering
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Feb 22, 2013
A resource guide for chemical engineering information.
Chemistry
by Ye Li - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Resources for basic research in chemistry, including: analytical, organic, inorganic, biological, and physical chemistry.
Children's Literature
by Angie Oehrli - Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
The Children's Literature Research Guide is intended to assist researchers, School of Education and School of Information students by providing UM Library children's lit resources in one place. It also includes other external helpful resources.
Chinese Studies
by Yunah Sung - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information for conducting research in Chinese Studies at the University of Michigan.
Citation Analysis Guide
by Marija Freeland - Last Updated May 1, 2013
This guide is designed for faculty who need information on how to use library resources for citation analysis. This includes information about impact factors, journal rankings, and how to find who has cited an article.
Citation Guides for Government Information
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Oct 1, 2012
Print and web guides to citing government documents in various formats; online sources to cite government publications regardless of format.
Citation Help
by Emily Hamstra, Amanda Peters - Last Updated Dec 3, 2012
A web guide for students who have questions about citing sources correctly.
Citing Sources in the Sciences
by Betsy Williams - Last Updated Jan 5, 2013
LIsts print and online citation and style guides for various science disciplines; also explains how to abbreviate journal titles
Civil Engineering
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Civil Engineering.
Clarinet Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Dec 3, 2011
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the clarinet in the Music Library.
Classical Studies Resources
by Beau Case - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
This guide provides some useful suggestions for research in Greek, Roman, and Byzantine literature, history, and archaeology.
Comic Books and Graphic Novels
by Dave Carter - Last Updated May 24, 2013
This guide provides useful information about comic books and graphic novels as topics of academic research at the University of Michigan.
COMM 102 Media Processes and Effects
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Suggested resources for Dr. Emily Falk's Comm 102 course on media processes and effects. Winter 2013.
COMM 111: Workshop on Managing the Information Environment
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
This guide provides an introduction to the MLibrary research environment for students taking Communication Studies 111.
Comm 351 Understanding Media Industries
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Suggested resources for Professor Aswin Punathambekar's Fall 2012 communication studies course.
COMM 371: Media, Culture, and Society (Fall 2012)
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Nov 9, 2012
This guide offers useful resources specific to Derek Vaillant's Communication Studies 371 class, fall 2012.
Comm 459 Making of American Audiences
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
A research guide for students in Professor Helen Ho's course, Communication Studies 459: The Making of American Audiences
Comm 478: African Americans in Black Popular Culture
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Resources to assist you in finding sources for the "Course Design" assignment, for Professor Robin Means Coleman's Comm 478/AAS 487 course (winter 2013).
Comm 479: Citizenship after Television
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
Suggested resources for Professor Aswin Punathambekar's Comm 479: Citizenship after Television.
Comm 485 Mass Communication and Public Opinion
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Resources on finding public opinion data, polls and surveys.
COMM 488 Election coverage: Democracy, Media and Message
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
This guide offers useful resources specific Graham Griffith's Election Coverage course, winter 2011.
Comm 491 Senior Honors Seminar
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Suggested resources for honors communication studies students.
Common Problems Finding Journal Articles
by Jean Jones - Last Updated Nov 10, 2010
Suggestions for working through problems finding journal articles.
Communication Studies
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Sep 19, 2012
Find resources related to mass media and communication, including health communication, political communication, gender and race, global and new media, media policy, social media, and print and broadcast history, among other topics.
Comparing Social Policies/Programs
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
This is a guide to resources for the policy comparison assignment for Social Work 530 classes, Introduction to Social Welfare Policy and Services.
Computer & Video Game Archive
by Dave Carter, Valerie Waldron - Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Resources related to the Computer & Video Game Archive, as well as projects and studies involving video games.
Computer Science & Engineering
by Dave Carter - Last Updated May 16, 2012
This guide provides a starting point for research in Computer Science & Engineering
Congress
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
Use for researching Congress or finding Congressional documents like bills. laws, legislation, serial set, debate, Congressional Record, CRS reports, primary source documents, hearings, prints, reports and policy.
Congressional Hearings
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Jul 19, 2011
Constitutions
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
This guide will help with researching the U.S. Constitution as well as the constitutions of other countries.
Copyright and Using Video
by Jeff Pearson, MPublishing Staff - Last Updated May 8, 2013
Mostly about the copyright implications of using video within education and a video content management system, this guide provides a basic introduction to the copyright considerations of using, creating, and showing videos in an academic setting
Copyright Basics
by MPublishing Staff - Last Updated May 8, 2013
The following guide provides answers to common copyright questions.
Creating and Printing Posters
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Nov 19, 2012
This guide will help you create and print posters for classes, conferences, and other professional situations.
Creating Online Tutorials
by Anne Perorazio, Carol Shannon - Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
Provides helpful tips on creating video tutorials, especially those using Jing or Camtasia.
Criteria for Web Site Evaluation
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Aug 10, 2010
Here are some tips on how to evaluate web site information for undergraduate students.
CSP 100
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
This resource is intended to support the academic endeavors of students in the CSP 100 course.
Czech and Slovak Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Aug 10, 2010
This guide covers the Czech Republic and Slovakia.
D
DAAS 201:Introduction to African American Studies
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
The internal migration of African Americans in the 20th century, including the “Great Migration” of the 1940s and 1950s, constitutes the largest permanent resettlement of African Americans in U.S. history. Tens of thousands of blacks moved from predom
DAAS/History/Women’s Studies 336.
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Dec 11, 2012
Guide for DAAS/History/Women's Studies 336 in the Fall 2012 Term at the University of Michigan.
Dental Hygiene
by Carol Shannon - Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Dental Hygiene.
Dental Hygiene - Graduate
by Carol Shannon - Last Updated Oct 7, 2012
Resources for students in the dental hygiene graduate program.
Dentistry
by Mark Mac Eachern - Last Updated Mar 31, 2013
Provides a list of relevant resources for dentists and other dental professionals (dental hygienists, researchers, educators, etc.).
Dermatology
by Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
This guide provides information on resources in the field dermatology.
Designing Professional Posters with Illustrator
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Learn the six basic tools for designing and creating posters with Adobe Illustrator.
Detroit Center
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
Detroit Center - Grants Workshop Resources
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
This research guide is intended to assist persons seeking to secure funding for small projects using microgrants, non-profit fiscal sponsorship, or fundraising tools.
Detroit Map Resources
by Timothy Utter - Last Updated Jun 21, 2012
Guide to finding map resources of Detroit and southeastern Michigan.
Dietetics
by Mark Mac Eachern - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
This research guide complements the orientation session librarians offer to the incoming dietetic interns.
Digital Humanities
by MPublishing Staff - Last Updated Aug 30, 2012
An introduction to tools and projects in the field of digital humanities.
Disability
by Anna Schnitzer - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
This guide provides resources which address a variety of issues concerning physical, emotional, and mental disabilities.
Diversity Studies
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Aug 10, 2010
This is a subject guide for undergraduate students with information tips on research related to diversity studies.
Double Bass Resources
by Jason Imbesi - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the double bass in the Music Library.
E
Earth 142: From Stars to Stones
by Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
Earth 146: Plate Tectonics
by Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Oct 29, 2012
library guide for Rob Van der Voo's Autumn 2012 class.
Earth 315: Mineralogy
by Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
Earth 333: Inexhaustable Seas? Marine Resources and Environmental Issues
by Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
guide to support writing assignments and data sharing issues for Ingrid Hendy's class.
East Asian Studies
by Mari Suzuki - Last Updated Oct 8, 2012
An introductory guide to East Asian studies and techniques for finding relevant materials in English.
East European Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Aug 10, 2010
This guide covers the westernmost countries of the former Soviet Union, each one of which has a separate page: Belarus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, and Ukraine. Also included in this guide is information on the Romani people.
Economic Crisis and Recession
by Pam MacKintosh, Catherine Morse - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Resources on the 2008 economic crisis/recession and its aftermath.
Economics
by Pam MacKintosh - Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in economics.
ED 799: Categorical and Limited Dependent Variable Modeling
by Karen Downing - Last Updated Oct 11, 2012
Guide to help find articles and other resources related to topics commonly studied in this class such as enrollment, access, and financial aid.
Education
by Karen Downing - Last Updated Apr 24, 2013
Library resources that would be useful for doing research on an education topic.
EDWP Meeting
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
Elections
by Catherine Morse, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Research procedure for identifying books, journal and newspaper articles, campaign finances, advertising, public opinion polls, and election data.
Electrical Engineering
by Dave Carter - Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
Provides a starting point for research in Electrical Engineering
Electronic Books (e-Books)
by Lisa Campbell, Pam MacKintosh - Last Updated May 24, 2013
Information about e-Book readers and e-Book collections available to University of Michigan faculty, staff, and students.
Emergency Medicine
by Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
A guide to electronic resources in support of Emergency Medicine faculty, staff, and students.
EMU African American Artist course
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated Apr 1, 2013
Guide for Julie Myers' EMU course on African American artists
Energy Engineering
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated May 13, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Energy Engineering.
Engineering (General)
by Dave Carter, Paul Grochowski, Leena Lalwani, Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
This guide provides basic resources for locating information related to engineering.
Engineering 100
by Dave Carter - Last Updated Nov 6, 2012
Useful links for Engineering 100 students.
Engineering 100 Section 500
by Paul Grochowski, Nadia J. Lalla, Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Sep 10, 2012
Course guide: Biotechnology and Human Values
Engineering Education
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Jul 6, 2011
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Engineering Education.
ENGL 313: Literature and Magazines (Howard)
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jan 14, 2013
This is a guide for researching American magazines.
English 125
by Emily Hamstra, Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Nov 19, 2012
This is a guide designed to offer help and research ideas for students taking English 125.
English 125 - Kumarasamy
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012
This guide is intended to assist English 125 - Writing Across the Spectrum Students with their course assignments
English 125 - R. McAdams
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
This course guide is intended to help students in "College Writing: Travel and Tourism" course with their assignments.
English 125 - Taylor
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
This resource guide is designed to help English 125 students to effectively accomplish their course assignments.
English 125 Audra Puchalski
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012
Guide to library resources for English 125
English 125 Bashir
by Alexandra Rivera, Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
This library research guide was created for students in the English 125 course taught by Samiya Bashir.
English 125 Cole
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Nov 19, 2012
A guide to research sources for students in Sheerah Tan Cole 's English 125 class.
English 125 Hinken
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Resources and Services for English 125
English 125 Horton
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Nov 16, 2011
Resources and Services for Joe Horton's English 125 Class
English 125 Kelly Allen
by Harold Tuckett, Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
Research help for students in Kelly Allen's English 125 class.
English 125 Major
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Nov 7, 2012
Library resources and research information useful for students in Amie Major's English 125 class.
English 125 McDonnell
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Resources and Services for English 125
English 125 Parsons
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
Resources and Services for Molly Parson's English 125 Class
English 125 Samuele
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Nov 14, 2011
Resources and Services for Rocco Samuele's English 125 Class
English 125 Stroebel
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Oct 29, 2012
A guide to research sources for students in Will Stroebel's English 125 class.
English 125 Winter 2013
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Jan 16, 2013
issues concerning English only laws local and federal, language discrimination, language assimilation, bilingualism, hybrid language use of Spanglish (Spanish and English)/ Taglish (Tagalog and English) and general issues around debates about immigration,
English 225
by Amanda Peters, Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated Feb 15, 2013
English 225
by Angie Oehrli, Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This is a guide designed to offer help and research ideas for students taking English 225 Academic Argumentation
English 225 - Taylor
by Gabriel Duque, Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
This resource is intended to assist students in Professor Taylor's English 225 course.
English 225 Wetherell
by Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Oct 2, 2012
Library Resources for Brad Wetherell's English 225 Classes
English 225- Matzke
by Emily Hamstra - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
This guide is for Brian Matzke's English 225 class, winter 2013.
English 313
by Beth Strickland - Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
This research guide has been designed to support the research needs of students currently enrolled in Literary Studies: Jane Austen: English 313 (ENG313).
English Language & Literature
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Nov 27, 2012
Provides selected sources and useful research-related sites in the field of English language and literature.
English Language Institute 120
by Gabriel Duque, Emily Hamstra - Last Updated Dec 5, 2012
This guide presents an introduction to research at the U of M library for students enrolled in the English Language Institute 120 course.
Entrepreneurship
by Leena Lalwani, Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in Entrepreneurship.
ENVIRON 139: Footprints Across Time, Fall 2012
by Scott Martin - Last Updated Oct 1, 2012
A guide to finding online literature and other material for ENVIRON 139: Footprints Across Time, taught by Professor Bobbi Low.
ENVIRON 211: Social Sciences and Environmental Problems
by Catherine Morse, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Dec 21, 2012
Guide for Professor Zint's ENV 211 class
ENVIRON 399: Junior Honors Seminar
by Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Research Guide for Program in the Environment honors seminar students
Environmental Engineering
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Environmental Engineering.
Environmental Health Sciences
by Carol Shannon - Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Environmental Health Sciences.
Environmental Impact Statements
by Catherine Morse, Sara Samuel, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
guide to finding environmental impact statements and environmental assessments
Epidemiology
by Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Epidemiology.
Epidemiology: Summer Session
by Carol Shannon, Jean Song - Last Updated Jul 20, 2012
European Union
by Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Jul 30, 2012
This guide is a collection of resources and information regarding the The European Union and the countries within and effected by it.
Evidence-Based Research
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
This guide shows how social work researchers can take advantage of resources from the library as well as free resources to track down the best evidence
F
Family and Integrative Medicine
by Merle Rosenzweig - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
This subject guide provides information related to resources in the field of family and integrative medicine.
FAST Lab Resources
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
Useful resources for Prof. Ashley Gearhardt's Food and Addiction Science and Treatment (FAST) lab.
Film & Video Studies / Screen Arts & Cultures
by Philip Hallman - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Selected resources useful for conducting research on moving image media of all kinds, including cinema (popular movies, documentaries, animation, etc.), television, and digital media (video games, etc.).
Film Music Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Nov 5, 2012
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to film music in the Music Library.
Finding a Course Reserve Item
by Angie Oehrli - Last Updated Oct 21, 2012
Instructions on how to use CTools or Mirlyn to find the call number of your Course Reserve item.
Finding and Exploring Your Topic
by Angie Oehrli - Last Updated Dec 21, 2011
This research guide will help you determine a reasonable topic for your paper.
Finding and Incorporating Media into CTools and PowerPoint
by Annette Haines, Rebecca Price - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
A guide from an Enriching Scholarship 2009 workshop.
Finding Christmas Music in the Music Library
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated May 5, 2010
This is a guide to finding printed Christmas music in the Music Library.
Finding Crime Statistics
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide explains how to find local, national, and international crime statistics
Finding Data
by Jen Green, Nicole Scholtz - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
Strategies and resources for finding data across the social sciences, including opinion surveys.
Finding Elementary and Intermediate Piano Music
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Dec 9, 2011
This is a guide to locating elementary and intermediate piano music in the Music Library.
Finding English Translations of Vocal Music Texts
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
This is a guide to sources of English translations of song and aria texts. Many of these provide phonetic readings in addition to poetic and/or word-for-word translations.
Finding Funding for Water Research and Projects
by Karen Downing, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
find research and project funding sources related to local, regional, national and international water issues.
Finding Journal Articles in the Shapiro Science Library
by Betsy Williams - Last Updated May 7, 2012
This guide explains how to find a journal article, online or in print, in the Shapiro Science Library.
Finding Journal Articles, Book Reviews and More!
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
A brief guide for finding journal articles and book reviews using ArticlesPlus and other tools, as well as books, e-books, videos, and audio recordings at the UM Library.
Finding Legislation: Bills and Laws
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Jul 19, 2011
Explore sources of US federal and state bills and laws.
Finding Map Resources in Mirlyn
by Timothy Utter - Last Updated Apr 11, 2011
How to find maps, atlases, CD-ROMs, and other spatial resources in Mirlyn.
Finding Species Information
by Scott Martin - Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
A guide for finding factual information about particular plant and animal species.
Finding Spectral Data
by Ye Li - Last Updated Aug 31, 2011
A guide to locating IR, NMR, mass spec, and other spectral data.
Finding Statistics
by Catherine Morse, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
Find statistics produced by government on a wide variety of topics.
Finding Tests & Measurement Instruments
by Marija Freeland, Carol Shannon, Susan Turkel, Jamie Vander Broek, Sue Wortman - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
This guide will help those who are looking for tests or measurement instruments in either the health or behavioral sciences. It offers resources, tips and tricks for finding tests.
Flute Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the flute in the Music Library.
Food Studies
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Mar 22, 2013
Food Studies is an interdisciplinary field that takes a wide thin slice across the arts, humanities and sciences. Food Studies gathers together knowledge about food as it occurs anywhere in established disciplines, to understand relationships.
Francophone Canada
by Jennifer Bonnet - Last Updated May 6, 2013
UM research collections and other resources in the study of Francophone Canadian history and literature/Les collections de recherche d'UM, et autres ressources pour l'étude de l'histoire et de la littérature canadienne Francophone
French 465/660 Le Procès: Littérature et art devant la loi au XIXe siècle (Michèle Hannoosh)
by Jennifer Bonnet - Last Updated May 22, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information to support students' research for the final paper in French 465/660.
French History
by Jennifer Bonnet - Last Updated May 13, 2013
A guide to UM research collections and other resources for the study of French History
French Language and Literature
by Jennifer Bonnet - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Provides selected sources and useful research-related sites in the field of French language and literature.
Funding Sources for School of Public Health (SPH)
by Taubman Health Sciences Library, Gurpreet Rana, Judy Smith - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
A targeted funding guide for graduate students in the public health field.
G
Gastroenterology
by Deborah Lauseng, Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
A collection of resources for Gastroenterology.
Genealogy Research Guide
by Scott Dennis - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
While no specific collection of genealogical materials exists within the Hatcher Graduate Library, there are items of genealogical interest available throughout the library in various formats.
General and Comparative Literature
by Barbara Alvarez - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Resources for research in Complit, reception studies, translation studies, literary theory, and affiliated discourses.
General Medicine
by Deborah Lauseng - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
A guide to information resources for faculty, house officers and students in General Medicine.
Genetics
by Merle Rosenzweig - Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
A research guide to useful sources in the field of genetics for UM researchers.
Geography
by Timothy Utter - Last Updated Jun 18, 2012
Resources at the University of Michigan for research in geography.
Geospatial Data
by Nicole Scholtz - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
Subject guide to finding and using geospatial data. Includes tutorials for using elevation data to make contours, and using aerial imagery layers to output imagery even more efficiently than Google Earth Pro can.
Geospatial Data Resources
by Jen Green, Justin Joque, Nicole Scholtz, Timothy Utter - Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
for SNRE 531
Geriatric Medicine
by Marisa Conte, Deborah Lauseng - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
This research guide provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Geriatric Medicine.
German 310
by Amanda Peters, Nicole Scholtz - Last Updated Oct 8, 2012
This is a research guide for German 310. Resources included will help them learn more about Germany.
German Culture, History, Politics
by Beau Case - Last Updated Feb 3, 2012
Provides some key resources for researching German culture, history, and politics.
Germanic Languages & Literatures
by Beau Case - Last Updated May 31, 2012
Print and online resources for research into Germanic languages and literature.
Getting Started with InDesign
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Apr 5, 2013
This guide has instructions for the basic tools of Adobe InDesign, which you might use to create a flier, brochure or newsletter.
GIS, Map and Statistical Data: Korea
by Yunah Sung, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
Find map, statistics, and GIS data with regard to Korea.
Global Health Information & Resources
by Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated May 23, 2013
A collection of University Library, University of Michigan and external resources for all those interested in the many facets of global health.
Global Information Resources
by Gabriel Duque - Last Updated May 15, 2013
This guide is for students enrolled in programs from the Center for Global and Intercultural Study (CGIS).
Global Scholars 2012 - 2013
by Gabriel Duque, Amanda Peters - Last Updated Mar 22, 2013
Google for Academic Research
by Jamie Vander Broek, Sue Wortman - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
This guide will give some tips and tricks on using Google for academic research.
Graduate Library Reference Collection Resources
by Scott Dennis - Last Updated Aug 12, 2012
This guide includes information on resources typically found in the Hatcher Graduate Library reference collection.
Graduate Student's Guide to Publishing
by MPublishing Staff - Last Updated May 22, 2013
Tips on how to get your work published in a variety of formats.
Grant Support for Subject Liaisons
by Karen Downing - Last Updated Jul 20, 2012
A guide to help subject librarians assist their constituents with grant-seeking questions.
Grants and Fundraising
by Karen Downing - Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research on grant-seeking. This includes finding funders, proposal writing, university processes, and related topics. Online and print resources on grant-getting are included.
Great Lakes
by Sara Samuel, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
A research guide for reading about and studying the Great Lakes.
Green Indigeneities: English 317/AmCult 301
by Sigrid Cordell, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Nov 15, 2012
A research guide for Susan Najita's Fall 2012 class.
Grey Literature
by Deborah Lauseng, Carol Shannon - Last Updated May 9, 2013
Provides resources and information on how to search for Grey Literature.
Guide to the UM Library for New Graduate Students
by Breanna Hamm, Carol Shannon, Susan Turkel - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
Use this guide to quickly and easily find need-to-know information when you're a grad student. Includes insider tips from university librarians and staff to help provide you with a unique pool of information and resources.
Guitar Resources
by Jason Imbesi - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the guitar in the Music Library.
Guns, Mental Health & Social Work
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Apr 28, 2013
H
HA 194.001 Art at Medieval Courts
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated Oct 29, 2012
This seminar explores an extravagant international culture staged against a background of war, power politics, and economic uncertainty. The class examines architectural monuments, sculpture, ivories and bejeweled objects, precious manuscripts, etc.
HA 255: Visual Mythology
by Sigrid Cordell, Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated Oct 4, 2012
Resource guide for Professor Pat Simons's class, HA 255: Visual Mythology.
Harp Resources
by Jason Imbesi - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the harp in the Music Library.
Health Behavior and Health Education
by Kate Saylor - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Health Behavior and Health Education.
Health Care Disparities
by Carol Shannon, Judy Smith, Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jan 14, 2013
This is a library research guide developed for students taking Social Work 634, Health Care Services and Policies during winter term 2012.
Health Care Reform - 2011
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Oct 26, 2012
This is a course guide for Social Work 634, Health Care Policies and Services.
Health Disparities in the U.S.
by Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Provides information & resources on conducting research on health disparities in the United States.
Health Management and Policy
by Judy Smith - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Provides resources for conducting research in health management and policy and health services research.
Health Management and Policy Capstone
by Judy Smith - Last Updated Jun 29, 2012
Health Sciences Grants Information Portal (HS-GIP)
by Nandita Mani - Last Updated May 23, 2013
The Health Sciences Grants Information Portal (HS-GIP) is your main access point to grants related information and resources.
Health Sciences Mobile Devices Resources
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated May 2, 2013
A guide to resources for mobile devices in health sciences.
Health Statistics
by Taubman Health Sciences Library, Carol Shannon - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
A guide to resources on finding and utilizing health statistics.
Health, Engineering & Business
by Judy Smith, Whitney Townsend - Last Updated Jan 10, 2013
A guide to resources at the intersection of health, engineering, and business.
Hematology/Oncology
by Marisa Conte - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
A guide to relevant resources for clinical and research faculty in the Division of Hematology/Oncology
HIS 316: Medieval Women
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Nov 17, 2012
Suggested resources for Katherine French's course on medieval women. Includes general research sources like encyclopedias, as well as suggestions for finding secondary sources.
Hist. 329/LACS 321: Germans on the Move : German Migration and Local Communities in Latin America and the Caribbean, 1790’s to 1940’s
by Nerea Llamas - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
Guide to research of German migration in Latin American & the Caribbean
HISTART 394.006 Special Topics: China and the Natural Garden: Intercultural Exchange at the Dawn of the Modern Age
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
China's natural gardens and their relation to art, society, and culture.
HISTART 465.001: Baroque Architecture
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
This course examines the architecture of the Baroque period in relation to philosophical, religious, political, economic, and environmental factors
History (General)
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in history.
History 195: Transformation and Disillusionment in the American 1970s
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
This is a research guide for students in David Schlitt's History 195: The Writing of History class, Transformation and Disillusionment in the American 1970s.
History 197: Robin Hood
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
Suggested resources for Katherine French's seminar on Robin Hood. Includes general research sources like encyclopedias, as well as suggestions for finding secondary sources.
History 202: Doing History
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
A research guide for students in History 202: Doing History, the gateway seminar for history concentrators.
HISTORY 313 - The Revolutionary Century: France, 1789-1900
by Jennifer Bonnet - Last Updated Jul 18, 2011
Also: FRENCH 340 - French Literature in Translation
History 314 Empire, War, and Modernity: France and the World in the 20th Century
by Jennifer Bonnet - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Also French 345. This course guide provides search strategies for finding books and articles to use for your second paper.
History 328: History of Forensic Pathology and Legal Medicine
by Sigrid Cordell, Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
Research guide for students in History 328, History of Forensic Pathology and Legal Medicine
History 396: Being Modern
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated May 16, 2013
This is a guide to resources for students in John Carson's spring 2013 course, History 396: Being Modern: Living, Thinking, Loving in America from the Civil War to World War II.
History 398: Honors Colloquium
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
This is a research guide for students in the History Honors Colloquium.
History 465: Making America Modern (John Carson)
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
This guide covers primary and secondary sources for studying U.S. history from 1859-1945.
History 467
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jun 2, 2011
This is a guide for the research paper in Matt Lassiter's class, History 467: The U.S. Since 1945.
History Honors Colloquium
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
History of Art
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated May 23, 2013
A guide to basic research in History of Art at the University of Michigan.
History of Science & Technology
by JoAnn Sears - Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide provides some suggested resources for research in the history of science and technology.
HIV and AIDS Resources
by Kate Saylor - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
This is a research guide highlighting local, national and international resources and information about HIV and AIDS.
Horn Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Sep 13, 2010
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the French horn in the Music Library.
I
Iberian Studies
by Nerea Llamas - Last Updated Nov 9, 2011
Guide to electronic and print resources for research on Spain and Portugal.
Images
by Rebecca Price - Last Updated May 24, 2013
A guide to help you find and use images and other visual resources from the University Library. Visit us at Imageworks on the 2nd floor (east side) of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.
Independent Filmmaking
by Jennifer Bonnet, Karen Downing, Philip Hallman, Angie Oehrli - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
This guide is designed to help independent filmmakers create their films
Industrial and Operations Engineering (IOE)
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in industrial and operations engineering.
Infectious Diseases
by Marisa Conte, Deborah Lauseng - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
A guide to relevant resources, search strategies, and information for clinical and research faculty in the division of Infectious Diseases.
Information & Library Studies
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Feb 13, 2013
A guide of useful resources for School of Information (SI) students, and for research in the interdisciplinary field of information and library science.
Information Empowerment: MALARIA
by Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Malaria is a mosquito-borne parasitic disease that kills nearly 800,000 people a year. Over 90 per cent of all malaria deaths occur in Africa where it remains a leading cause of childhood mortality.
Information Technology
by Dave Carter - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
A guide to help users locate and use IT-related library resources.
Interdisciplinary Team-Based Summer Internship - BOLIVIA 2012
by Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
A resource guide for students taking part in a summer internship at the Centro Vivir con Diabetes (CVCD) and Education and Information Center “Living with Diabetes”, Cochabamba and La Paz, Bolivia
Interracial Resources
by Karen Downing - Last Updated Jul 13, 2010
A guide to fiction and non-fiction resources on topics relating to interracial people and relationships.
IOE 424 - Practicum in Production and Service
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Sep 10, 2012
This guide offers starting points for the literature review for your IOE design project.
ISI Web of Science: Getting Started
by Betsy Williams - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
This guide describes how to access and start searching the ISI database Web of Science, which includes Science Citation Index.
Italian Language, Literature and Culture
by Barbara Alvarez - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Recommended resources for research in Italian language, literature and culture.
J
Japan Disaster Information
by Paul Grochowski, Sara Samuel, Kate Saylor, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Jul 9, 2012
Information about the 3/11/2011 earthquake and subsequent crisis in Japan.
Japanese Studies
by Keiko Yokota-Carter - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Selected information resources on Japanese Studies at University of Michigan
Jewish Visual Culture
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated Nov 9, 2012
History of Jewish Visual Culture from Ancient Mosaics to Jewish Hip Hop Videos.
Judaica
by Elliot Gertel - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011
Provides a list of electronic and print resources supported by the University of Michigan Library's Judaica Unit.
K
Keeping Alert - Tracking New Articles and Books in your field
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated Jul 9, 2012
A guide to using emailed alerts, table of contents services, and RSS feeds to keep up with what's being written in your area of interest.
Kinesiology
by Emily Hamstra - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Guide to useful resources for doing research in kinesiology.
Knight Wallace Journalism Fellows
by Shevon Desai, Amanda Peters - Last Updated Sep 20, 2012
A library guide for the Knight Wallace Fellows
Korean Online Resources
by Yunah Sung - Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
Korean Studies
by Yunah Sung - Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
Provides selected research resources in the area of Korean Studies, with a particular focus on social sciences and humanities resources.
L
LACS 321 The Archaeology of Mexico and Peru: Inca, Aztec and the Spanish Conquest
by Nerea Llamas - Last Updated Jul 3, 2012
Guide to resources specific to this course offered Summer 2012.
LACS 355/AAS 358 "From Colonial Saint-Domingue to Independent Haiti"
by Jennifer Bonnet, Nerea Llamas - Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
Research guide for LACS 355/ AAS 358
Landscape Architecture
by Rebecca Price, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
This guide contains resources for research in Landscape Architecture.
Latin American & Caribbean Studies
by Nerea Llamas - Last Updated Aug 21, 2012
This guide provides information on resources for Latin American and Caribbean studies.
Latino/a Studies
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Feb 26, 2010
The Latina/o Studies Program at the University of Michigan is an inter-disciplinary and pan-Latino program that seeks to understand the history and culture of Latina/os in the United States.
Law
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
The Graduate Library law collection is primarily a collection about law and how it relates to society. The Law Library has a more comprehensive collection.
Learning ArcGIS
by Nicole Scholtz - Last Updated Nov 13, 2012
Resources for learning ArcGIS at the University of Michigan.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Studies
by Beth Strickland - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
This guide will help you find relevant materials for research relating to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered and Queer communities.
LGBTQ Health Resources
by Kate Saylor - Last Updated Nov 2, 2012
Library Digital Films Service - Streaming video for instructors
by Jeff Pearson - Last Updated May 22, 2013
The University Library provides a service to deliver streaming video of films on CTools class websites.
Library Guide for ARTDES 110 Digital Studio
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
This guide contains resources and information for students enrolled in the ARTDES 110 Digital Studio course.
Library Guide for ARTDES 399: Writing in Art and Design: Critical Issues in Art and Design
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Sep 17, 2012
Library Guide for ARTDES 399: Writing in Art and Design: Critical Issues in Art and Design
Library of Congress Call Numbers
by Betsy Williams - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Explains how to read Library of Congress (LC) call numbers and provides call numbers for science disciplines
Library Resources for ADP I: The Creators
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Oct 10, 2012
This Library Guide will assist students writing papers for ARTDES 150 - Art and Design Perspectives (ADP I): The Creators (Fall 2012)
Library Resources for ADP II: Society - Tobier
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
This guide will help students complete part III of the ADPII Everyday Objects Assignment
Library Tips for Psychology Faculty
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
Presented by Susan Turkel, Psychology and Sociology Librarian.
Linguistics Resources
by Jonathan Rodgers - Last Updated Apr 29, 2013
Offers primarily electronic resources supporting teaching and research in Linguistics. Included are indexes to articles in scholarly journals, online full-text sources, encyclopædias, dictionaries, and other resources on the web.
Literature Reviews for the Humanities
by Marija Freeland, Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
A guide with resources for the Faculty Exploratory workshop on Literature Reviews in the Humanities.
Literature Reviews for the Social Sciences
by Marija Freeland, Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Feb 13, 2013
A guide with resources for the Faculty Exploratory workshop on Literature Reviews in the Social Sciences.
Locating Archives and Manuscripts
by Jennifer Bonnet, Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Apr 18, 2013
This guide provides an overview of strategies for locating primary sources, including archival and manuscript material.
M
Manufacturing Engineering
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Dec 3, 2012
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in manufacturing engineering.
Materials Collection
by Annette Haines, Leena Lalwani, Rebecca Price - Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
The UM Library is leasing the collection from Material ConneXion®. The collection consists of samples of over 250 materials, a selected subset of the the over 6,500 materials found in the Materials ConneXion® database.
Materials Science and Engineering
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in materials science and engineering.
Mathematics
by JoAnn Sears - Last Updated May 9, 2013
A guide to resources in mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Jul 2, 2012
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in mechanical engineering.
Mechanical Engineering 450
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Sep 10, 2012
Use this guide as a starting point for the literature review for your mechanical engineering design project.
Medical Education
by Whitney Townsend - Last Updated Jan 6, 2011
Provides resources, strategies, and information related to Medical Education.
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
Highlights some of the library-related resources in the area of medieval and early modern studies.
Mendeley Basics
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
A guide to the basic uses of the Mendeley citation manager.
Mental Health Policies & Services SW 636
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
This is a course guide for Social Work 636, Mental Health Policies & Services for winter term, 2013.
Metabolism, Endocrinology, and Diabetes
by Nandita Mani - Last Updated May 22, 2013
A guide to relevant resources for clinical and research faculty in the division of Metabolism, Endocrinology, and Diabetes.
MI-AAHSL InfoShare
by Nandita Mani, Whitney Townsend - Last Updated May 21, 2013
This resource guide aims to provide an information sharing opportunity for librarians to discuss a variety of LIS topics including systematic reviews, instructional integration into curricula, and much more.
Microbiology and Immunology
by Marci Brandenburg, Jean Song - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
A guide to digital resources relevant to microbiologists and immunologists.
Microsoft Office Software Guides
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Oct 22, 2012
These guides include instructions for using Word efficiently (for a dissertation or any document), the basics of Excel, including some ways to use it as a gradebook, and tips for creating effective PowerPoint presentations.
Microsoft PowerPoint 2010
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide covers PowerPoint's basic tools and offers some information about designing good PowerPoint slides.
Microsoft Word for Dissertation 2010
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Nov 26, 2012
This document provides information that will help you use Microsoft Word 2010 effectively for your dissertation. Topics include: formatting page numbers, using chapter templates, footnotes, images, and figures.
Mirlyn
by Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated May 22, 2013
This is a guide to using Mirlyn, the University of Michigan Library Catalog.
Mirlyn Classic
by Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated Dec 20, 2011
This is a guide to using Mirlyn Classic, the classic University of Michigan Library Catalog.
Molecular and Integrative Physiology
by Merle Rosenzweig - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
A guide to digital resources of interest to physiologists.
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology Resources
by Marci Brandenburg - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conduction research in molecular, cellular, and developmental biology.
Multicultural Studies
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Sep 10, 2010
Selected resources useful for conducting research on Multicultural Studies. This includes, African American Studies, Latino or Hispanic American Studies, Native American Studies, and Asian American Studies. In some cases Women Studies and Lesbian, Gay, Bi
Museum Studies
by Beau Case - Last Updated Jun 1, 2012
Provides useful resources for research on museum studies.
Music
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012
This is a guide to finding music materials & getting started with music research.
N
N456 Community Health Nursing
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
This guide provides resources for students to understand and complete the requirements of the course, including participation in the class blog, the community assessment paper and the aggregate (scholarly) paper.
National Institutes of Health Public Access Policy (NIHPAP)
by Merle Rosenzweig - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
This guide is for NIH grantees and their support staff by providing a clear understanding of the National Institutes' Public Access Policy (NIHPAP), how to comply , and how to manage publications in eRA Commons using the My Bibliography portal in My NCBI.
Native American Studies
by Sigrid Cordell, Charles Ransom - Last Updated Oct 4, 2012
Native American Studies is an interdisciplinary study of American Indians (United States). This guide provides key resources for the study of American Indians.
Natural Resources and Environment
by Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
UM Libraries supports research in natural resources and environmental science through a variety of materials, both print and electronic.
Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in naval architecture and marine engineering.
Near Eastern Studies Library Resources
by Jonathan Rodgers, Feyza Sayman - Last Updated May 22, 2013
A guide to print and digital resources for the study of the Near East from all time periods in native and western languages, including indexes, full text journal articles, electronic books, and other internet resources
Nephrology
by Nandita Mani - Last Updated May 23, 2013
This guide provides information on resources related to nephrology
NERS 484
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated Sep 4, 2012
NCRP and ICRP course reserves for NERS 484, RHE Fundamentals, Dr. Joseph Miklos, Fall 2012
Neurology
by Nandita Mani - Last Updated May 22, 2013
A guide to relevant resources, search strategies and information for clinical and research faculty in the Department of Neurology.
Neuroscience
by Nandita Mani - Last Updated May 22, 2013
A guide to digital resources in neuroscience.
Neurosurgery
by Nandita Mani - Last Updated May 22, 2013
A guide to information resources for neurosurgeons, their staff, and students.
News & Events Resources for Artists
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
News and events resources from local to global to help artists keep pace with the world of art.
News Sources
by Shevon Desai, Marija Freeland - Last Updated Jan 8, 2013
Recommended resources and search tips for finding news in a variety of formats. Includes how to find international newspapers, historical newspapers, articles with a particular viewpoint, how to evaluate sources, and much more.
Non-Governmental Organizations
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Oct 19, 2012
A guide to resources covering NGO-generated information, including websites, publications, and other resources.
North Campus Research Complex
by Marci Brandenburg, Marisa Conte, Judy Smith, Jean Song - Last Updated Mar 1, 2013
This information guide provides resources and services to meet the needs of individuals and groups housed at the North Campus Research Complex (NCRC). View the guide and visit MLibrary@NCRC in Building 18, Room G218.
NRE 580: Integrated Assessment
by Jen Green, Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated May 22, 2012
For Josh Newell's Winter 2012 course
NRE 581
by Lori Tschirhart - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated May 13, 2013
This guide provides a starting point for research in Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences.
Nursing
by Deborah Lauseng - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in nursing.
O
Oboe Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Aug 31, 2011
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the oboe in the Music Library.
Obstetrics & Gynecology
by Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Obstetrics & Gynecology.
Obtaining Copyright Permissions
by MPublishing Staff - Last Updated May 7, 2013
This guide explains how to obtain copyright permission particularly when using music, movies, and images.
Online Music Scores
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
This is a guide to online sources for digital copies of music scores.
Open Access Literature
by Judy Smith - Last Updated May 15, 2013
This research guide provides readers with a basic understanding of Open Access literature.
Open.Michigan
by Susan Topol - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on creating and using open educational resources and on open education practices at U-M and elsewhere.
Ophthalmology
by Merle Rosenzweig - Last Updated Sep 13, 2010
A guide to electronic resources in support of Ophthalmology
Organizational Studies
by Pam MacKintosh - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in organizational studies.
Orthopaedic Surgery
by Whitney Townsend - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information related to Orthopaedic Surgery
Otolaryngology
by Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Otolaryngology.
P
PASQUAL Scholars Portal
by Nandita Mani - Last Updated May 22, 2013
This portal is a gateway for participants of the PASQUAL Scholars Program to access resources and information on patient safety, quality, and leadership
Patents and Trademarks
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in patents and trademarks.
Pathology
by Marisa Conte - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
A guide to relevant resources for clinical and research faculty in Pathology
Patient Safety
by Taubman Health Sciences Library, Carol Shannon - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
Provides resources for students, clinicians, researchers, & administrators on patient safety.
Pediatrics
by Marisa Conte - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
This guide provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Pediatrics.
Pharmaceutical Engineering
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Sep 7, 2011
This guide provides useful information related to Pharmaceutical Engineering
Pharmacology
by Marci Brandenburg - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
A guide to digital resources for faculty and students in Pharmacology.
Pharmacy
by Nandita Mani, Carol Shannon - Last Updated May 22, 2013
Provides a list of research and clinical resources for College of Pharmacy faculty and students.
Philosophy
by Scott Dennis - Last Updated Apr 1, 2013
Selected resources useful for philosophical research.
Photography
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Aug 24, 2010
Online and print resources to help you find information about photography. Click on the tabs for information about each area.
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
by Whitney Townsend - Last Updated Jun 29, 2011
Provides resources, strategies, and information related to Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Physics
by Jacob Glenn - Last Updated May 8, 2013
A guide to useful sources in the field of Physics for UM researchers.
Piano Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Nov 30, 2010
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the piano in the Music Library.
Polish Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Mar 23, 2011
This research guide provides useful resources related to Poland.
Political Science
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
Indexes, reference tools, and full text collections of political and government information.
Political Science 326
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Guide for Political Science 326, American State Government taught by Jenna Bednar
POLSCI 330
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Sep 29, 2011
Political Science 330 Political Psychology Research Guide
POLSCI 339: Introduction to Chinese Politics
by Yunah Sung - Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
This guide provides basic research resources for students in Political Science 339, Introduction to Chinese Politics, Fall 2010, taught by Mary Gallagher. The electronic resources listed here are intended to assist students in writing research papers.
POLSCI 381: Political Science Research Design
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
Guide for Political Science 381, Winter 2013 taught by Professor Pauline Luong
POLSCI 389-005
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide for Political Science 389, the History of American Foreign Policy taught by Neill Mohammad in Winter 2013.
POLSCI 411 Michigan in Washington
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
Resources for the Michigan in Washington (MIW) program
POLSCI 497: Islam Society and Politics in Central Asia
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
Guide for Political Science 497, Fall 2012 taught by Professor Pauline Luong
POLSCI160
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated May 6, 2013
Guide for Political Science 160 Introduction to World Politics taught by Professor James Morrow
Pornography Studies
by Beth Strickland - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
This guide will help you find relevant materials for research relating to the study of pornography.
Prep Course for Japan Trip - Library Guide
by Annette Haines, Keiko Yokota-Carter - Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
This guide presents resources useful for students in the Prep course for the Japan Trip ADABRD 321.001
Privacy and Data Security
by Shevon Desai - Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
Program Evaluation
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated May 20, 2013
This guide is a collection of resources for faculty, students and researchers interested in program evaluation.
PSYCH 303: Research Methods in Psychology
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff, Susan Turkel - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Key information resources and strategies for Psychology 303 students, as presented to Prof. Josh Rabinowitz's Winter 2013 course.
Psych 317 / Amcult 306
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Sep 30, 2011
Guide to using census data to create a community profile for Psych 317/Amcult 306 taught by Lorraine Gutierrez
PSYCH 371: Advanced Lab in Psychopathology
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated May 24, 2013
Tools and techniques for finding information for Psychology 371, taught in Spring 2013 by Prof. Edward Chang
PSYCH 438: Hormones and Behavior
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated May 20, 2013
Tools and techniques for finding information for Psychology 438, taught in Spring 2013 by Prof. Sara Konrath
Psychiatry
by Merle Rosenzweig - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in psychiatry.
Psycholinguistics Lab
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Links to resources of interest to the Psycholinguistics Lab at UM
Psychology
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated May 16, 2013
Provides guidance on information resources and search strategies on conducting library research in psychology.
Psychology 112 Rau
by Emily Hamstra, Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Oct 22, 2012
Useful resources for students in Psychology 112
Psychology Subject Pool: Alternative Written Assignment
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated Jan 8, 2013
A short guide to finding articles for the Psych Subject Pool AWA (Alternative Written Assignment).
Public Health (General)
by Carol Shannon - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Public Health.
Public Policy
by Catherine Morse, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in public policy.
Public Policy 778
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Guide for PubPol 778 Project Skills Workshop taught by Professor David Harding
Q
Qualtrics for M Library
by Britain Woodman - Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
Guide to creating and distributing surveys with Qualtrics, under U-M's site license for library personnel.
QuickTime Pro - Recording and Editing
by Digital Media Commons (DMC), Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated May 13, 2013
Learn how to create a video clip, screen capture, or audio clip as well as trim clips, change settings, and output.
R
Radiation Oncology
by Marisa Conte - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
A guide to relevant resources for clinical and research faculty in the Department of Radiation Oncology.
Radiology
by Mark Mac Eachern - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
Provides a list of research and clinical resources for Radiology.
Read Read Read
by Emily Hamstra, Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Jun 5, 2012
Recommended reading from the librarians at the University of Michigan Undergraduate Library. The 2012 edition of Read Read Read was assembled by Amelia Mowry, University Library Associate.
Real Estate Resources
by Rebecca Price - Last Updated Aug 29, 2012
A guide to help in your real estate research.
Reaxys: Beilstein/Gmelin/Patent Chemistry
by Ye Li - Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Resources and how-to guide to use Reaxys efficiently
Reference Resources (Humanities and Social Sciences)
by Scott Dennis - Last Updated Jun 23, 2011
A more comprehensive collection of reference resources in the humanities and social sciences.
Religious Studies
by Jennifer Bonnet - Last Updated May 13, 2013
Important resources for the study of religion at the University of Michigan
Researching and Writing an Architecture Paper
by Rebecca Price - Last Updated Sep 13, 2010
Some basic information on researching and writing a paper in the field of architecture.
REU Program in Science 2012 Summer
by Ye Li - Last Updated Jun 1, 2012
Help students in Research Experience for Undergraduates program in the Structure and Function of Protein and in Chemistry to use library services and resources at the University of Michigan.
REU Program in Science: Summer 2011
by Scott Martin - Last Updated Jun 8, 2011
Help students in Research Experience for Undergraduates program in the Structure and Function of Protein and in Chemistry to use library services and resources at the University of Michigan.
Reviews
by Jennifer Bonnet, Emily Hamstra - Last Updated Jan 15, 2013
Find reviews for a variety of cultural materials: books, film, music, theater, art, etc.
Rheumatology
by Whitney Townsend - Last Updated Jan 6, 2011
Provides resources, strategies, and information related to Rheumatology
Russian Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Provides resources covering the Russian Federation. Other states that were also part of the Soviet Union are covered by other guides: Guide for Central Asian and Caucasian Studies and Guide for East European Studies.
S
Sacred Places - HISTART 205 (Winter 2013)
by Deirdre Spencer - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
Sacred spaces are buildings and art which become the focus of ritual activity, pilgrimage and symbolism, creating a sense of awe within those who visit them.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
by Timothy Utter - Last Updated Jul 13, 2012
An introduction and guide to finding and using Sanborn fire insurance maps at UM and elsewhere.
Saxophone Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Sep 10, 2010
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the saxophone in the Music Library.
Scandinavian Studies
by Neil Robinson - Last Updated Sep 10, 2010
Resources in the University Library and on the Web relating to Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.
Scholarly Databases
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Sep 13, 2010
Here are some suggestions for subject specific databases for use by undergraduate students.
School of Art & Design Detroit Connections Resources
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Online resource guide for the School of Art & Design's Detroit Connections classes.
Scientific Writing & Publishing for Health Sciences
by Anna Schnitzer - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
This guide provides useful information about writing and publishing in the area of health sciences.
SciFinder
by Ye Li - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Access and use SciFinder through the web version for exploring chemical literature and substance information.
Search Strategy Tips
by Jean Jones - Last Updated Nov 10, 2010
Tips to improve search results
Search Tools
by Lisa Campbell - Last Updated Jan 14, 2013
A guide to using the Library's Search Tools systems, a portal to library databases, articles, online journals, online indexes, web resources, and catalogs.
Searchpath
by Amanda Peters, Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Jan 15, 2013
Welcome to Searchpath, your first stop for getting information about using library resources, brought to you by Shapiro Undergraduate Library.
Sexual and Reproductive Health
by Taubman Health Sciences Library, Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated May 23, 2013
An inter-disciplinary guide for students, faculty and staff researching human sexual and reproductive health.
Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive
by Dave Carter - Last Updated May 22, 2012
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive makes available over 52,000 video testimonies of Holocaust survivors.
Skyline Health and Medicine
by Taubman Health Sciences Library, Kate Saylor - Last Updated Oct 19, 2011
This is a guide for the students of Skyline's Health and Medicine Magnet
Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Jun 10, 2010
The Slavic, East European, and Eurasian collection includes roughly 305,000 monographs and 3,200 serials in Russian; Serbian, Croatian and Bosnian; Polish, Czech and Slovak; Armenian and other languages of Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union.
Social Work 701: Practice in International Social Work
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Dec 11, 2012
Emphasizing non-U.S. information sources, this guide provides access to many country background studies, statistics, NGOs, IGOs, cross-cultural understanding, and films to inform global social work.
Social Work Research Guide
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
A guide to social work research at the University of Michigan.
Social Work: Global Practice
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
This course guide highlights sources of international data and information useful to social work students in the classes covering global practice. It is also meant to help social work students pursuing international field placements.
Sociology
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
Provides some suggested resources for research in sociology and allied fields.
South Asia Guide
by Jeffrey Martin - Last Updated Sep 10, 2010
This guide focuses on the following South Asia countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Tibet, as well as South Asian diasporic communities.
Southeast Asia Guide
by Fe Susan Go - Last Updated May 13, 2013
This guide provides selected library resources for researching Southeast Asia, including Indonesia, Philippines, and Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Singapore, and Vietnam.
Southeast European Studies
by Janet Crayne - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
This guide covers countries in southeastern Europe, including Modern Greece, Albania, Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, and countries that comprised former Yugoslavia: Bosnia and Hercegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.
Space Sciences
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Space Sciences.
Spanish Language and Literature
by Barbara Alvarez - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in literature and language of the Spanish-speaking countries.
Standard Texts in Music History
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
This is a guide to standard resources for introductory study or review of western art music, jazz, popular music, and world music.
Standards
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated May 22, 2013
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in standards.
State and Local Government Information
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
Help on seeking government information at the state, county and city level.
Statistics (Mathematical)
by JoAnn Sears - Last Updated May 9, 2013
A guide to resources on mathematical statistics.
Statistics on Prisons
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Sep 23, 2011
This guide aims to lead researchers to statistics on imprisonment
Staying Informed in Social Work Practice
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Aug 15, 2012
This guide offers resources and tips for keeping current with social work research after graduation from University of Michigan. It includes links to many free databases, government information and other resources.
Surgery
by Mark Mac Eachern - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information for Surgery research and clinical work.
SW 522 - Basic Social Work Research
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Course guide for SW 522 - Winter term 2013 Basic Social Work Research.
Sweetland Peer Tutoring Center Writing Manuals & Guides
by Emily Hamstra, Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Jan 14, 2013
These are recommended guides and manuals for different disciplines.
T
Tech Comm 300
by Dave Carter - Last Updated Nov 6, 2012
A brief guide to helpful resources for Tech Comm 300.
Telluride Association 2012
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Jul 24, 2012
UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN TASS PROGRAM Mass Incarceration: Race, Punishment, and Contemporary Urban America
That Seventies Class
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
The Grace York Archive of Census Aids
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Jul 8, 2011
An archive of spreadsheets and tutorials for Census information (1790-2000)
The Literature Review: For Dissertations
by Ye Li, Diana Perpich, Lori Tschirhart, Sue Wortman - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
This is a multidisciplinary guide for graduate students interested in first steps to consider when starting a literature review for their dissertation.
The Long Civil Rights Movement: From World War II to the Present
by Charles Ransom - Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
First year seminar History 197
Theatre and Drama
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
This guide provides suggested resources for theatre and drama research at the University of Michigan.
THL Citation Analysis & Impact Factors
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated May 30, 2012
Guides, Tutorials and Presentations offered by Taubman Health Sciences Library on Citation Analysis & Impact Factors
THL Citation Management
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Tutorials provided by the Taubman Health Sciences Library on citation management programs.
THL Clinical Resources
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated May 30, 2012
Guides, Tutorials and Presentations offered by Taubman Health Sciences Library on Clinical Resources
THL Database Searching
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Guides, Tutorials and Presentations offered by Taubman Health Sciences Library on Database Searching
THL Evidence-Based Practice
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated May 30, 2012
Guides, Tutorials and Presentations offered by Taubman Health Sciences Library on Evidence-Based Practice
THL Guides, Tutorials, and Presentations
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Dec 10, 2012
Guides, tutorials, and presentations about resources and tools used in the health sciences disciplines.
THL MGet It, Using Mirlyn, Deep Blue
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
Resources for using University Library resources (MGet It, Mirlyn, & Deep Blue) from the Taubman Health Sciences Library.
THL Other Topics
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
Guides, Tutorials and Presentations by Taubman Health Sciences Library on the Topics of Consumer Health Information, Deep Blue, Social Media & Staying Current, Video Creation, and Virtual Reality.
THL Quick Links
by Mark Chaffee - Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
THL Web Searching
by Taubman Health Sciences Library - Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
Guides, Tutorials and Presentations offered by Taubman Health Sciences Library on Web Searching
Tips on Using the Library for Social Work Instructors & Faculty
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jan 15, 2013
This is a guide for new and returning social work faculty on how to take advantage of library resources and services available at the University of Michigan Library.
Tools for Mobile Research
by Lisa Campbell - Last Updated May 8, 2013
Use these free mobile apps and sites to connect to M-Library and manage your academic work. This information was presented as part of Enriching Scholarship 2013.
Top Ten Databases to Start Your Undergraduate Research
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Sep 12, 2012
Try these databases if you're not sure where to find articles for an undergraduate research project.
Topographic Map and Bathymetric Chart Resources
by Timothy Utter - Last Updated Jul 16, 2012
This guide provides online resources for topographic maps and bathymetric charts that can be accessed digitally.
Transferring Files and Publishing Web Pages
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Jun 13, 2011
You can transfer files (FTP) through a variety of ways: a website (mFile), by using Fugo (Mac) or Secure Shell (Windows) or using Dreamweaver. You can even use the IFS icon from some campus computers.
Trombone Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Nov 6, 2012
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the trombone in the Music Library.
Trumpet Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the trumpet in the Music Library.
Tuba & Euphonium Resources
by Kristen Castellana - Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the tuba and euphonium in the Music Library.
U
U.S. Census and Demographic Information
by Catherine Morse, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A general guide to understanding and finding demographic data produced by the U.S. Census Bureau
U.S.Foreign Relations
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
Sources for researching relations between United States of America and other countries
UC 104: Introduction to Research
by Angie Oehrli, Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
This guide is designed as a companion Website for students in the Michigan Research Community Program who are taking the UC 104: Introduction to Research one-credit course.
UC 210
by Alexandra Rivera, Harold Tuckett - Last Updated Oct 17, 2012
This research guide is an introduction to library resources for students of University Course 210, taught by Fran Zorn.
UC 275: Global Information Resources Workshop
by Gabriel Duque - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Library research guide for students enrolled in UC 275
ULAM
by Marisa Conte - Last Updated Sep 19, 2012
A resource guide for ULAM faculty, fellows and residents to veterinary medicine resources at MLibrary
UM Library Basics
by Gabriel Duque - Last Updated Aug 16, 2012
UM Summer Bridge Program
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated May 13, 2013
This resource is designed to both introduce Summer Bridge scholars to the many resources available at the UM Library and to arrange the library and information resources necessary for the Summer Bridge Program's courses.
UMHS Nursing
by Deborah Lauseng, Barbara Shipman - Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Provides resources, strategies and information for UMHS nurses.
UMMS Global Health and Disparities Path of Excellence - An Information Resource Starter Kit
by Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated May 15, 2013
A access point to begin investigation and research; and to find information resources, skills and strategies to support the University of Michigan Medical School's Global Health and Disparities Path of Excellence.
Undergraduate Library Reference Collection Resources
by Pam MacKintosh - Last Updated Dec 14, 2012
This guide includes information on reference resources selected to support undergraduate student research, papers, and projects
Unique Collections on the UM Campus
by Annette Haines - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
Unusual collections in the UM Library and on the UM Campus (Ann Arbor).
United Kingdom Government Resources
by Catherine Morse - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
Resources for locating information pertaining to the UK Parliament, its devolved governments, and other applicable resources including parliamentary papers and command papers
United Nations
by Catherine Morse, Jungwon Yang - Last Updated Oct 24, 2012
Guide to finding United Nations information online and in the Government Documents Center
United States History
by Sigrid Cordell - Last Updated Sep 20, 2012
This guide covers major resources and methods for research in U.S. history. Some of the key resources discussed in this guide are America: History and Life, Making of America, and Early American Imprints (Evans).
United States Military
by Sigrid Cordell, Catherine Morse, Angie Oehrli - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Resources and statistics on the United States Military
University Library: Global Information Resources
by Gabriel Duque, Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated May 15, 2013
The University Library is dedicated to providing awareness and instruction of information resources to students, faculty, and staff involved in global study.
University of Michigan Information
by Barbara Beaton - Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
Brings together numerous resources (primarily electronic) which pertain to UM history, facts, etc.
UP 360 - Planning Detroit
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
This resource is intended to support the academic research component of the RCSSI 360 Course: Planning Detroit: Evolving Visions and Strategies
Urban & Regional Planning
by Rebecca Price - Last Updated Feb 11, 2013
This guide will help identify and locate a wide variety of resources for Urban & Regional Planning studies.
Urology
by Merle Rosenzweig - Last Updated Aug 17, 2010
UROP
by Karen Downing, Emily Hamstra, Ye Li, Amanda Peters - Last Updated Jan 16, 2013
This is an introduction to library resources for students in the UROP program.
Useful Firefox Browser Add-ons for Your Research
by Karen Reiman-Sendi - Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
Highlights selected time-saving helper applications to assist with searching and writing/citing, using the Firefox web browser. [Guide based on content developed for Enriching Scholarship workshop (2012).]
Using Excel 2010
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
This guide explains the basics of common features in Excel 2010 for PC.
V
Video Game Development
by Dave Carter - Last Updated Feb 4, 2011
Selected resources designed to assist those who are interested in computer and video game design, development, and programming.
Video Game Studies
by Dave Carter - Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Selected resources designed to assist in researching the interdisciplinary field of computer and video game studies.
Videos and Moving Image Media - Askwith Media Library
by Jeff Pearson - Last Updated May 2, 2013
A collection of helpful Internet links relating to film & video, compiled by the staff at the Askwith Media Library.
Viola Resources
by Jason Imbesi - Last Updated Apr 1, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the viola in the Music Library.
Violin Resources
by Jason Imbesi - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
This is a guide to locating information and materials related to the violin in the Music Library.
Vulnerable Children, Youth and Families in Society
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Oct 26, 2012
Guide to finding research and information related to the study of children and youth in social work, along with some resources on domestic violence and family issues.
W
Web Page Creation Guides
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
This guide includes the handouts for Dreamweaver and SiteMaker, including a basic introduction to CSS for SiteMaker. There are links to help with Google Sites and CTools, and transferring files at UM.
Wikipedia at the University of Michigan
by Ye Li - Last Updated May 1, 2013
Resources about editing and using Wikipedia
Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Library Guide
by Sara Samuel, Betsy Williams - Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
This guide is tailored for the instruction session given to people in the library workshop offered by WISE.
Women's Studies
by Beth Strickland - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Designed to help you find relevant materials for research relating to women and gender.
Women's Studies 220 / Nursing 220
by Beth Strickland - Last Updated Dec 4, 2012
This research guide has been designed to support the research needs of students currently enrolled in Women's Health: Women's Studies 220 (WS220) / Nursing 220 (NURS220) .
Women's Studies 315 / English 315
by Beth Strickland - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
This research guide has been designed to support the research needs of students currently enrolled in Women and Literature: Women's Studies 315 (WS315) / English 315 (ENG315).
Working with iMovie and iDVD
by Digital Media Commons (DMC), Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Dec 7, 2012
This guide provides step-by-step processes in iMovie such as creating new projects and events, capturing video, trimming and editing clips, adding text, transitions and effects, and exporting. Also, there is a section dedicated to burning media with iDVD.
World Diabetes Day
by Nandita Mani, Gurpreet Rana - Last Updated Nov 14, 2012
Writing 100 - Transition to College Writing
by Alexandra Rivera - Last Updated Oct 25, 2012
This course guide is designed to provide assistance to students in Writing 100 taught by Professor Naydan. The focus of the class is Consumerism in post-1945 America
#
2012 SROP Science and Engineering
by Dave Carter, Scott Martin - Last Updated May 31, 2012
Guide for SROP students in science & engineering.

Resource Access

Most library online resources mentioned in these guides are limited to current University of Michigan-Ann Arbor faculty, staff and students. Researchers not affiliated with the University of Michigan, as well as UM alumni, will be restricted to freely available electronic resources, such as Mirlyn, the library catalog. See details about off campus access.

Be sure to log into your library account when attempting to troubleshoot access problems. If you continue to have difficulties accessing a library resource, please contact the Ask a Librarian service.

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Timothy Utter
Contact Info
825 Hatcher Library South
734 647-0646
Send Email

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan