Research Guides: Finding Data: Source: Government

Data Favorites

ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social science data. Topics include demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion.
iPoll
Polling data from nearly 400,000 questions asked on national public opinion surveys. Searchable by keyword, polling organization, and date.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
SourceOECD
Online library of the Organisation of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes full-text of all books, 24 periodicals and the OECD statistical databases.
UN Data
Official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism.

Government Data

National Sources

data.census.gov provides free and relatively easy access to 1990 and 2000 census data from block level to national level. Census data is also available in a number of other formats and products, including Geolytics CDs (primarily available in the SAND-Central lab), Social Explorer, and SimplyMap. Files for use in statistical packages can also be downloaded from ICPSR.

FedStats provides a topic listing to statistics and data from federal agencies

International Sources

Foreign Government Data Sources at the library's government documents website provides a comprehensive list of sources of foreign government data