This is the "Home" page of the "African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

African American Studies   Tags: african_american_studies, social_sciences  

A Library Resource Guide to African American Studies
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/aastudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

African American Music

Archive of African American Music and Culture
Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.  The collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop.  The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.

 Blue Lyics Online
Alphabetical listing by title or by artist with links to song lyrics

Davey D's Hip Hop Corner
History and commentary from hip hop journalist and scholar Davey D.

Hip Hop Archive Portal
Stanford University sponsored resource guide.

Original Hip-Hop Lyrics Archives

All About Jazz
Newsletter, articles, event calendars and directories

Social Science Databases

 

MGet It

Already Have a Citation? Learn about MGetIt and citation linking

Citation Linker SFX

African American Studies Databases

 

African American Studies Web Sites

Demographic Facts from the U. S. Census on African Americans
The latest data on African Americans in the United States

W.E.B. Du Bois Institute For African and African American Research
The Du Bois Institute is the nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of Africans and African Americans.

African Timelines
Developed by Cora Agatuccie at Central Oregon Community College.  The site includes seprate timelines for Ancient Africa and for the period from the 1st to 15th centuries A.D.

Brown v. Board of Education Digitial Archive
University of Michigan Library's Brown v. Board of Education Digital Archive. This archive contains documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present.

The archive is divided into four main areas of interest: Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools.

The "Underground Railroad
The National Geographic website includes a simulation of the decision and consequences of chossing or not choosing to escape encslavement on the Underground Railroad

 The African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
The Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound

 E Black Studies
An effort to decelop a website specifically designed to serve the interest and needs of Africana Studies

 

Chuck's Video

Chuck's Profile

Profile Image
Charles Ransom
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

 

Online Microform Guides

Microforms relating to African Americans at the
University of Michigan Libraries
 
This is a bibliography of microforms at the University of Michigan that relate to African
Americans.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip