- Help With RefWorks
- Get Started
- Creating Your Account
- On and Off Campus
- Direct Export to RefWorks
- Databases Without Direct Export to RefWorks
- Enhancing Citations
- Editing Information in Your Citations
- Removing Duplicates
- Global Editing
- Read-Only Access
- Using RefWorks for Group Research Projects
- Adding Citations to Your Word Document
- One Line/Cite View Manuscript
- Write-N-Cite (Page created by RefWorks.com)
- Creating a Bibliography for Your Word Document
- Creating an Independent Bibliography (Reference List)
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web-based citation management service used for storing and organizing citations, as well as automatically formatting bibliographies with Microsoft Word.
It is similar to EndNote, but your citations are stored on the RefWorks server rather than on your local machine and thus you must be connected to the Internet to use RefWorks.
RefWorks is free to University of Michigan faculty, students and staff while you are part of the University.
RefWorks will help you:
Organize – RefWorks enables researchers to organize and manage their research data.
Access – RefWorks allows users to access their databases from any Web-connected source.
Collaborate – RefWorks offers a tool which provides users with a quick and easy way to share their research via the Web, allowing viewers the ability to provide feedback and create bibliographies, further enhancing collaborative research.
Help with RefWorks
Students, staff and faculty can get RefWorks assistance at one of our consulting facilities:
- Knowledge Navigation Center – Located on the second floor of the Hatcher Graduate Library. Call ahead (647-5836) or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org to make an appointment.
- Faculty Exploratory – Located on the second floor of the Hatcher Graduate Library. Call ahead (647-7406) or e-mail email@example.com to make an appointment. (Faculty only)
- TechDeck – Located on the first floor of the Shapiro Library. Stop in, call ahead (647-1926) or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org to make an appointment.
There are several RefWorks workshops offered each semester – they are all free. Visit http://teachtech.umich.edu for more information and to register.
This full-length handout, which is used in the workshop, is available at: http://www.lib.umich.edu/files/services/exploratory/pdfs/refworks.pdf
There is also a two-page handout to get you started, as well as practice what you've learned in this guide (see the Handouts box on any page).
RefWorks has created a LibGuide to help you get started. The information here is supplemental to what is in this guide. When reading instructions on how to log-in, please use the UM guide that you are currently on. http://refworks.libguides.com/
The Cushing/Whitney Medical Library at Yale University produced several RefWorks video tutorials. Many of the videos you will see throughout this guide were used with permission from Yale University. To see their full collection of RefWorks videos visit: http://www.med.yale.edu/library/education/guides/feature/refworks.
The UM specific videos were created by UM Instructional Technologist, Breanna Hamm.
The Write-n-Cite video was created by RefWorks.