This is the "Getting Started" page of the "The Long Civil Rights Movement: From World War II to the Present" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

The Long Civil Rights Movement: From World War II to the Present  

First year seminar History 197
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/DAAS197 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

African American Studies Web Sites

Demographic Facts from the U. S. Census on African Americans
The latest data on African Americans in the United States

W.E.B. Du Bois Institute For African and African American Research
The Du Bois Institute is the nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of Africans and African Americans.

African Timelines
Developed by Cora Agatuccie at Central Oregon Community College.  The site includes seprate timelines for Ancient Africa and for the period from the 1st to 15th centuries A.D.

Brown v. Board of Education Digitial Archive
University of Michigan Library's Brown v. Board of Education Digital Archive. This archive contains documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present.

The archive is divided into four main areas of interest: Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools.

The "Underground Railroad
The National Geographic website includes a simulation of the decision and consequences of chossing or not choosing to escape encslavement on the Underground Railroad

 The African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
The Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound

 E Black Studies
An effort to decelop a website specifically designed to serve the interest and needs of Africana Studies

 

Helpful Databases

ProQuest Research Library
Indexes over 3,800 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.

Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes content from six of the ten JSTOR Multidisciplinary Collections (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII; and Life Sciences) and nearly all of the JSTOR Discipline-Specific Collections (Biological Sciences, Business, Ecology & Botany, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Mathematics & Statistics, and Music).

America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.



 

African American Studies Databases

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It includes scholarly essays, periodical articles, historical newspaper articles, images, video clips, a detailed timeline, and more from the following resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) Full Text (1902-1990, 1998- ), The Chicago Defender historical backfile (1909-1975), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940).

Oxford African American Studies Center
Combines more than 7,500 articles by scholars drawn from reference works. Includes the complete text of Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, The Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, African American National Biography, and The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, plus selected articles from many other reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes over 1,000 images, maps, charts, tables, and primary sources with specially written commentaries.


African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states. Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.


Black Historical Newspapers
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of six major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.


Chuck's Profile

Profile Image
Charles Ransom
 

Finding Legal Cases

Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.

Contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.

Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide. 13 v.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip